GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

TREFALDWYN / MONTGOMERY

Bibliography

Abram, Andrew. The Battle of Montgomery 18th September 1644. Bristol : Stuart Press, c1994. 43p

Barker, Philip. Hen Domen Montgomery : a timber castle on the English-Welsh border. [London] : Royal Archaeological Institute, c1982. 98p

Evans, D E. Montgomery 1644 : the story of the castle and Civil War battle. [Powys] : March Publication, [1985?] 38p

Jenkins, Hugh M. Musicians of Montgomery - descendant of the Bennett's. Cronicl Powys. No. 49 (2000), p. 32

Jones, Edwyn W Rev         The boundaries of Montgomery        Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 40  1923   Welsh Journals Online

Jones, Edwyn W Rev     Montgomery Church           Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 40  1923   Welsh Journals Online

Knight, Jeremy K. Excavations at Montgomery Castle. Archaeologia Cambrensis 141 (1992), p. 97-180

Lloyd, John D K. Montgomery Castle, Montgomeryshire = Castell Trefaldwyn, Sir Drefaldwyn. London : H.M.S.O., 1973. 35p

Lloyd, John D K. A guide book to the Parish Church of Saint Nicholas, Montgomery. [Montgomery] : [Parish Church of St. Nicholas], 1984 printing. 9p

Lloyd, John D K. A guide to Montgomery. Montgomery : Montgomery Civic Society, 1988. 38p

Lloyd, John D K. The Robber's Grave in Montgomery Churchyard. Newtown : The Clifton Press Ltd., [1959] 8p Montgomery District official guide. London : Ed. J. Burrow, [1983] 60p

Montgomery Town Hall. Welshpool : Montgomery District Council, 1991. 24 leaves

Morris, Philippa. Morris, Davies and Jones in Kerry, Montgomery and Llandyssul. Cronicl Powys. No. 20 (1989), p. 53-61

Owen, Mary Newill      Lymore and Black Hall            Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 42  1932   Welsh Journals Online  

Parish of Montgomery, St Nicholas' Church, Sion Presbyterian Church, Wesleyan Methodist Chapel : memorial inscriptions . S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 140p

Pryce, Charles S    Borough of Montgomery; the Flos Lands        Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 36  1912   Welsh Journals Online    

Remfry, Paul M. Bloody Montgomery, 1223 to 1295. Worcester : SCS Publishing, 1998. 44p

Robinson, W R B. Sir Richard Herbert (d. 1539) of Montgomery / Part 2. Montgomeryshire Collections 88 (2000), p. 1-23

Sutton, Alfred. Sutton' s directory of North Wales comprising the counties of Anglesey, Carnarvon, Denbigh, Flint, Merioneth, and Montgomery, and the City of Chester. Manchester : Looney & Pilling, Letterpress and Lithographic Printers, [1890?]

Waters, A B        Lymore, Montgomery           Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 42  1932   Welsh Journals Online  

Welton, Ann. The story of Montgomery. Logaston : Logaston Press, 2003. 194p

Worrall, John. Worrall's directory of North Wales : comprising the counties of Anglesey, Carnarvon, Denbigh, Flint, Merioneth, and Montgomery, with Chester, Shrewsbury, Oswestry, and Aberystwyth. Oldham : John Worrall, 1874.

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Montgomery parish 1841-1901

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Nicholas's Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish & town statistics; Area 3288 acres; Population 594 males, 654 females, total 1248

Church of St Nicholas, Montgomery on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Welcome to Montgomery

Hen Domen Castle  - on the Castle Wales site

Montgomery Castle - on Castle Wales

Victorian Powys for schools site - Montgomery and the border district

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Montgomery in 1839, and 1901

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Trefaldwyn / Montgomery


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 7 April 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI