Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Y Drenewydd / Newtown

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Y Drenewydd / Newtown


Bredsdorff, Eva B. The Newtown Textile Museum. The Newtonian, 8 (Spring 2002), 2-7

Briwnant-Jones, Gwyn. Railway through Talerddig : the story of the Newtown & Machynlleth and associated railways in the Dyfi Valley. Llandysul : Gomer, 1992. 144p

Churchill, Richard. More about Newtown but mainly about Dicky George. The Newtonian, 12 (Spring 2003), 6-11

Davies, George. Childhood and growing up in Newtown. The Newtonian, 6 (Autumn 2001), 2-6.

Gentle, Rene. A Newtown girl. The Newtonian, 10 (Autumn 2002), 25-30.

Hornsey, Brian. Ninety years of cinema in Newtown, Welshpool, Port Talbot. Stamford : Fuschiaprint, 1995. 22p

Hughes, Glyn T. Wesley Methodist Church Newtown : the first two hundred years. Newtown : Wesley Methodist Church, 2000. 24p

Jennings, J L. Memories of Newtown whilst with the 23rd Field Training Regiment, Royal Artillery during the war. The Newtonian, 10 (Autumn 2002), 10-20

Jones, Elwyn V. History of Newtown, 1221-1970. Newtown : Severn Press, 1970. 51p

Jones, Elwyn V. Chronological history of Newtown (including some from other places) 1265 to 1980 : and, essay on Pryce Jones, pionner of mail order and parcel post. Newtown, Powys : Elwyn V. Jones, 2002. 92p

Jones, Elwyn V. When Newtown was the 'busy Leeds of Wales'. Newtown (9 Severn Sq., Newtown, Montgomeryshire) : Severn Press, 1971. 12p

Jones, S W. The Newtown church rate assessment of 1779/80. Cronicl Powys. No. 18 (1988), p. 17-21 Marsden, Doreen. A Sunnyside childhood : recollections of a Newtown child in the 1920s. Newtown : Newtown Local History Group, 2002. 31p

Montgomeryshire Records : Newtown Wesleyan Church, register of baptisms 1799-1837 / [members of the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society]. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1998. 96p

Mytton-Davies, Cynric. Newtown and Llanidloes; the official guide. Carshalton : Home Publishing, [1970] 36p Newtown, Powys : the official guide. Newtown : [Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn Town Council], [1987] 60p

Newtown in 1810    Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 36  1912   Welsh Journals Online    

Newtown 100 years ago. The Newtonian, 9 (Summer 2002)

Newtown March Fair. The Newtonian, 5 (Summer 2001),19-20

Newtown. Stroud, Gloucestershire : Chalford, 1995. 128p. Archive photographs series. Also 1998 ed.

Newtown Independent Church : register of baptisms 1820-1857. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 50p

Newtown Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Church: register of baptisms 1812-1868. S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2000. 30p

Oliver H Nixon. Parish of Newtown : a short history of St. David's Church, the Kerry Road Primary School and the John Griffith Charity, 1847-1997. [Newtown?] : [St David's Parish Church?], 1997. 38p

Oliver, H Nixon. The Newtown Co-operative Society and its branches. The Newtonian, 8 (Spring 2002), 18-23.

Owen, Brian. The Newtown and Llanidloes Poor Law Union Workhouse, Caersws, 1837-1847. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 78 (1990), p. 115-60

Owen, Brian. The Nuisance Removal and Prevention of Contagious Disease Acts, 1806-1848, and their implications at Newtown. Cronicl Powys. No. 19, 20 (1988) (1989), p. 67-85, 29-36

Owen, Idris. Newtown Home Guard. The Newtonian, 11 (Winter 2002), 7-8

Owen, Idris. Looking after Newtown. The Newtonian, 14 (Autumn 2003), 2-9. Parish of Newtown, Parish Church of St. David's : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 98p

Parish of Newtown : St. Mary's & Non-Conformist churches, etc. : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 64p

Parish of Newtown : register of baptisms, 1813-1839. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 96p

Pugh, David. The wartime evacuation to Newtown. The Newtonian, 3 (Winter 2000), 6-10

Pugh, David. Newtown carnival. The Newtonian, 9 (Summer 2002), 12-21

Pugh, David. The suffragette campaign in Newtown during the general elections of 1910. The Newtonian, 7 (Winter 2001), 10-17

Pugh, David. The Briscos of Newtown Hall. The Newtonian, 12 (Spring 2003), 14-21

Pugh, David. Electricity in Newtown. The Newtonian, 15 (Autumn 2003), 27-31

Pugh, David. Secondary education in Newtown. The Newtonian, 17 (Summer 2004), 7--21

Randall, John. Impressions of Newtown. The Newtonian, 15 (Autumn 2003), 2-4. Transcribed from 'The Montgomeryshire Express', 9 November 1880.

Register of successful vaccinations, April 1856-February 1859, Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn. [Welshpool?] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , c2001. 22 leaves

Richards, Maurice. Newtown in old picture postcards. Zaltbommel, Netherlands : European Library, 1986. 80p

Richards, Maurice. An outline of the Newtown woollen industry. Newtown (Roseholme, Golwgydre Lane, Newtown, Montgomeryshire, SY16 2AT) : M. Richards, 1971. 28p

Richards, Maurice. A study of Newtown in 1881. [Newtown] : Newtown 1881 Society, c1985. 49p

Richards, Maurice. A history of Newtown. Welshpool : Powysland Club, 1993. 94p

Richards, Maurice. Newtown notes. No. 2. Cronicl Powys. No. 50 (2000), p. 73-75

Richards, Maurice. A study of Newtown in 1881 High Street and Markety Street / Part 3 . [Newtown] : Newtown 1881 Society, c1984. 36p

Rowlands, B Bennett. A brief history of the ancient church and town, the Pryces of Newtown Hall, and the present church and modern town of Newtown Mongomeryshire. Newtown : Phillips and Son, 1914. 149p

Williams, J W. The history of the Baptist Church, Newtown, Montgomeryshire. Newtown : Stephens and Edwards, Printers, 1881. 32p

Williams, Richard      A parochial account of Newtown          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire  Vol 32  1902   Welsh Journals Online

Business and Commerce Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • David Owen & Son Records  "David Owen & Son was a threshing machine business in Newtown, Montgomeryshire, between 1860 and 1958"  
  • Correspondence of D. C. Davies, Newtown, corn and seed merchants   1917-1928  
  • Lewis & Son (Newtown) Ltd, tanners, records  1916-1972  
  • Newtown Foundry, records   "Records of Newtown Foundry, 1906-1979, comprising financial records, 1906-1979, including ledgers, 1920-1976, cash books, 1933-1974, order books, 1906-1975, and cash sales books, 1973-1979; letter books, [1920s]-1974; miscellaneous correspondence, [ c. 1920]-[ c. 1970]; printed matter, 1952"


Victorian Powys for schools site -  Census figures for Newtown parish 1841-1901


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Y Drenewydd / Newtown area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re

  • Newtown URC (Congregational), Park St
  • St David's Church
  • Zion Tabernacle, English Baptist, New Rd, Newtown

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 2736 acres; Population 1814 males, 1970 females, total 3784

  • No return for parish church
  • Independent Chapel, Green           Erected 1821                 Attendance - morning 96, afternoon 114 scholars, evening 120           John Evans, Minister
  • Primitive Methodist Chapel, Park St               Erected 1821            Attendance - morning 70 + 10 scholars                 William Burgoyne. John Phillips, Treasurer
  • Zion Chapel, Baptist               Erected 1801, enlarged 1814,1821 and 1836               Attendance - morning 373, evening 731 + 390 scholars            John Williams, Baptist Minister
  • Wesleyan Chapel, Wesleyan Methodist             Attendance - morning 380, afternoon 280 scholars, evening 650       Richard Meddins, Steward

The old St Mary's Church is now a ruin.

Text on the War Memorial at St. David's Parish Church, Newtown.

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Drefnewydd (Saesonaeg) chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Jan 2011)   Also Drefnewydd (Cymraeg) - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Jan 2011)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1660-75, 1679-1971; Marriages 1660-75, 1679-1958; Burials 1660-75, 1679-1993; Banns 1887-1971
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Arch

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Newtown Independent Chapel, records       "Records of Newtown Independent Chapel, 1820-1871, (also known as Park Street Congregational Chapel) comprising rules ('covenant'), [19th century]; register of births and baptisms, 1820-1856; register of members, 1844-1871"  
  • Society of Friends, Newtown Meeting House    "Papers relating to the Society of Friends' Newtown Meeting House, 1967, comprising a surveyor's report on Cwrt yn Dre, Newtown, and letters concerning its acquisition by the Friends."
  • Zion Baptist Chapel, [New Rd] Newtown marriage registers     1947-1987

Description and Travel

Victorian Powys for schools site - Newtown and the Severn Valley

Newtown picture gallery on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site

Newtown Town Council

Newtown Textile Museum

The Robert Owen Museum

Newtown Castle - on the Castle Wales site

Newtown - on Wikipedia

You can see pictures of Y Drenewydd / Newtown which are provided by:



Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Davies, Gregynog, Collection and Deeds Collection: [1310] - [1958]; Deeds: 1597-1832     "The Misses Davies of Gregynog were Gwendoline Elizabeth Davies (1882-1951) and Margaret Davies (1884-1963) of Gregynog who were art collectors and benefactresses. They were the granddaughters of David Davies of Llandinam, Montgomeryshire, whose fortune was derived from contracting, coal, railways and docks. The sisters had a Calvinist background, and acquired Gregynog mansion near Newtown, Montgomeryshire, after the First World War"  
  • Griffiths & Lewis families (Glanhafren), papers      "Family papers of the Griffiths and Lewis families of Glanhafren, Newtown, later of Milford Hall, Newtown, Montgomeryshire, comprising mainly the personal and professional papers of James Griffiths (b. 1821), Medina Sara Griffiths (1840-1928), a headmistress and pioneer of education for girls, Eveline M. Lewis (1871-1958), and Medina Lewis (1898-1984). The archive also includes pamphlets and press cuttings of family interest, 1858-1944, papers on estate maintenance, 1930-1952, and family photographs, 1887-1949"
  •  Will of Arthur Turner, Newtown     "Arthur Turner (d. 1838) of Newtown, Montgomeryshire, was a mason."

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Y Drenewydd / Newtown has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Newtown and Machynlleth Railway, newspaper cutting  1863    "The Newtown and Machynlleth Railway, Montgomeryshire, was opened in 1863"

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Pryce Jones Ltd and other Newtown records      "Solicitors' records, 1606-[20th century], including deeds and correspondence relating to property in Newtown, Llanllwchaiarn, Trefeglwys, Kerry, Llandinam, Guilsfield and Castle Caereinion, Montgomeryshire, 1606, 1700-1896, including the Rock estate and Jones family, Llanllwchaearn and Newtown, 1788-1855; papers relating to Pryce Jones, 1861-1898, 1930, comprising mainly legal papers regarding cause in Chancery of Pryce Jones v. Barrington, Morgan and Co., 1880; photocopies of papers relating to Pryce Jones, [20th century]; letters and other papers relating to the Bennett and Meddins families, 1776, 1821-1873; papers of the Davies family of Manafon, 1732-1846, comprising wills and Manafon deeds; sale particulars and notices relating mostly to Montgomeryshire properties, 1849-1905; papers regarding privileges of Montgomery Borough, 1783-1826; and photocopies of miscellaneous documents, [20th century]."


Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site- Map of Newtown in 1845. And a map in 1903

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO107919 (Lat/Lon: 52.517613, -3.317483), Y Drenewydd / Newtown which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Newtown and Llanidloes Workhouse  - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Victorian Powys for schools site - Newtown and Llanidloes Poor Law Union

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Newtown and Llanidloes Poor Law Union records  1837-1930

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Newtown & Llanidloes Rural District Council, records  1907-1974  
  • Newtown & Llanllwchaearn Urban District Council Records  1892-1974   
  • Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn, vaccinations register 1856-1859  
  • Newtown and Welshpool Libraries, archives           "Papers deposited by Newtown and Welshpool libraries, 1687-1990, including Llanwrin receipts, 1910-1923; sunshine records from Mellington Hall, Churchstoke, 1880-1885; Newtown and district midwife's registers, 1922-1970; miscellaneous certificates, letters and other papers, 1687-1943, including the will of Richard Jones, 1687; correspondence relating to music festivals, 1934-1938; occupiers' lists of voters in Meifod, 1891-1908; notes and documents of A. Stanley Davies relating to early banking in mid-Wales, 1831-1866, [20th century]; newspaper cuttings and printed matter, 1967-1990; Montgomeryshire topographical prints and engravings, 1775-1811; photographic negatives of Berriew, [20th century]; sales particulars relating to Montgomeryshire properties, 1873; maps relating to Welshpool relief road, 1974; Llanfyllin Rural District Council rate book, 1956-1957; autobiographical typescript relating to the Second World War, [post 1978]."  
  • Newtown Oddfellows, minutes  1843-1922    "Newtown Oddfellows minute book and members list, 1843-1855; pedigree of Nicholas Bennett Owen of Trefeglwys and John Vaughan Owen of Llanidloes"  
  • Newtown Town Hall, S. Colwyn Foulke papers     "Items relating to Newtown Town Hall, [1960s] and [n. d.], comprising architects' drawings, photographs and a painting; miscellaneous photographs of Montgomeryshire, [n. d.], and Brecon, 1974."  
  • Newtown, housing ledger  [ c. 1902]


Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Montgomeryshire County Junior Technical School [Newtown] , log book   1944-1960