GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

Y DRENEWYDD / NEWTOWN

Bibliography

Bredsdorff, Eva B. The Newtown Textile Museum. The Newtonian, 8 (Spring 2002), 2-7

Briwnant-Jones, Gwyn. Railway through Talerddig : the story of the Newtown & Machynlleth and associated railways in the Dyfi Valley. Llandysul : Gomer, 1992. 144p

Churchill, Richard. More about Newtown but mainly about Dicky George. The Newtonian, 12 (Spring 2003), 6-11

Davies, George. Childhood and growing up in Newtown. The Newtonian, 6 (Autumn 2001), 2-6.

Gentle, Rene. A Newtown girl. The Newtonian, 10 (Autumn 2002), 25-30.

Hornsey, Brian. Ninety years of cinema in Newtown, Welshpool, Port Talbot. Stamford : Fuschiaprint, 1995. 22p

Hughes, Glyn T. Wesley Methodist Church Newtown : the first two hundred years. Newtown : Wesley Methodist Church, 2000. 24p

Jennings, J L. Memories of Newtown whilst with the 23rd Field Training Regiment, Royal Artillery during the war. The Newtonian, 10 (Autumn 2002), 10-20

Jones, Elwyn V. History of Newtown, 1221-1970. Newtown : Severn Press, 1970. 51p

Jones, Elwyn V. Chronological history of Newtown (including some from other places) 1265 to 1980 : and, essay on Pryce Jones, pionner of mail order and parcel post. Newtown, Powys : Elwyn V. Jones, 2002. 92p

Jones, Elwyn V. When Newtown was the 'busy Leeds of Wales'. Newtown (9 Severn Sq., Newtown, Montgomeryshire) : Severn Press, 1971. 12p

Jones, S W. The Newtown church rate assessment of 1779/80. Cronicl Powys. No. 18 (1988), p. 17-21 Marsden, Doreen. A Sunnyside childhood : recollections of a Newtown child in the 1920s. Newtown : Newtown Local History Group, 2002. 31p

Montgomeryshire Records : Newtown Wesleyan Church, register of baptisms 1799-1837 / [members of the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society]. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1998. 96p

Mytton-Davies, Cynric. Newtown and Llanidloes; the official guide. Carshalton : Home Publishing, [1970] 36p Newtown, Powys : the official guide. Newtown : [Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn Town Council], [1987] 60p

Newtown in 1810    Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 36  1912   Welsh Journals Online    

Newtown 100 years ago. The Newtonian, 9 (Summer 2002)

Newtown March Fair. The Newtonian, 5 (Summer 2001),19-20

Newtown. Stroud, Gloucestershire : Chalford, 1995. 128p. Archive photographs series. Also 1998 ed.

Newtown Independent Church : register of baptisms 1820-1857. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 50p

Newtown Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Church: register of baptisms 1812-1868. S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2000. 30p

Oliver H Nixon. Parish of Newtown : a short history of St. David's Church, the Kerry Road Primary School and the John Griffith Charity, 1847-1997. [Newtown?] : [St David's Parish Church?], 1997. 38p

Oliver, H Nixon. The Newtown Co-operative Society and its branches. The Newtonian, 8 (Spring 2002), 18-23.

Owen, Brian. The Newtown and Llanidloes Poor Law Union Workhouse, Caersws, 1837-1847. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 78 (1990), p. 115-60

Owen, Brian. The Nuisance Removal and Prevention of Contagious Disease Acts, 1806-1848, and their implications at Newtown. Cronicl Powys. No. 19, 20 (1988) (1989), p. 67-85, 29-36

Owen, Idris. Newtown Home Guard. The Newtonian, 11 (Winter 2002), 7-8

Owen, Idris. Looking after Newtown. The Newtonian, 14 (Autumn 2003), 2-9. Parish of Newtown, Parish Church of St. David's : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 98p

Parish of Newtown : St. Mary's & Non-Conformist churches, etc. : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 64p

Parish of Newtown : register of baptisms, 1813-1839. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 96p

Pugh, David. The wartime evacuation to Newtown. The Newtonian, 3 (Winter 2000), 6-10

Pugh, David. Newtown carnival. The Newtonian, 9 (Summer 2002), 12-21

Pugh, David. The suffragette campaign in Newtown during the general elections of 1910. The Newtonian, 7 (Winter 2001), 10-17

Pugh, David. The Briscos of Newtown Hall. The Newtonian, 12 (Spring 2003), 14-21

Pugh, David. Electricity in Newtown. The Newtonian, 15 (Autumn 2003), 27-31

Pugh, David. Secondary education in Newtown. The Newtonian, 17 (Summer 2004), 7--21

Randall, John. Impressions of Newtown. The Newtonian, 15 (Autumn 2003), 2-4. Transcribed from 'The Montgomeryshire Express', 9 November 1880.

Register of successful vaccinations, April 1856-February 1859, Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn. [Welshpool?] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , c2001. 22 leaves

Richards, Maurice. Newtown in old picture postcards. Zaltbommel, Netherlands : European Library, 1986. 80p

Richards, Maurice. An outline of the Newtown woollen industry. Newtown (Roseholme, Golwgydre Lane, Newtown, Montgomeryshire, SY16 2AT) : M. Richards, 1971. 28p

Richards, Maurice. A study of Newtown in 1881. [Newtown] : Newtown 1881 Society, c1985. 49p

Richards, Maurice. A history of Newtown. Welshpool : Powysland Club, 1993. 94p

Richards, Maurice. Newtown notes. No. 2. Cronicl Powys. No. 50 (2000), p. 73-75

Richards, Maurice. A study of Newtown in 1881 High Street and Markety Street / Part 3 . [Newtown] : Newtown 1881 Society, c1984. 36p

Rowlands, B Bennett. A brief history of the ancient church and town, the Pryces of Newtown Hall, and the present church and modern town of Newtown Mongomeryshire. Newtown : Phillips and Son, 1914. 149p

Williams, J W. The history of the Baptist Church, Newtown, Montgomeryshire. Newtown : Stephens and Edwards, Printers, 1881. 32p

Williams, Richard      A parochial account of Newtown          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire  Vol 32  1902   Welsh Journals Online

Business and Commerce Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site -  Census figures for Newtown parish 1841-1901

Church History

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 2736 acres; Population 1814 males, 1970 females, total 3784

NEWTOWN, St. David   1818-1846    - on the Church plans online site

The old St Mary's Church is now a ruin.

Text on the War Memorial at St. David's Parish Church, Newtown.

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Drefnewydd (Saesonaeg) chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Jan 2011)   Also Drefnewydd (Cymraeg) - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Jan 2011)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Description and Travel

Victorian Powys for schools site - Newtown and the Severn Valley

Newtown picture gallery on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site

Newtown Town Council

Newtown Textile Museum

The Robert Owen Museum

Newtown Castle - on the Castle Wales site

Newtown - on Wikipedia

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

History

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site- Map of Newtown in 1845. And a map in 1903

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Newtown and Llanidloes Workhouse  - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Victorian Powys for schools site - Newtown and Llanidloes Poor Law Union

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Schools

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Y Drenewydd / Newtown


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 2 Aug 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.