We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



Morgan, Wendy. Caeheulon and the parish of Penegoes : a collection of archive material for the family historian. Machynlleth : Coch-y-bonddu Books, 2003. 398p. Cover subtitle: the story of a Welsh farmhouse.  

Parish of Darowen: Beerseba C.M. Chapel, Melinbyrhedyn,Ty Cerrig W.M. Chapel, Commins Coch, Darowen Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Nebo Ind. Chapel, Cemmaes Road, Bethesda Chapel, Penegoes, Saron W.M. Chapel, Abercegir, Seion Baptist Chapel, Talywern: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2001.

Sheringham, J D T. Machynlleth and Penegoes land tax 1794, MONT. Q/RE L2 - N.L.W. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 73 (1985), p. 135-43


Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Penegoes parish  1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 8085 acres; Population 479 males, 449 females, total 928

  • Penegoes Parish Church             Attendance - morning 45         Services in Welsh             Ed(ward) Edwards, Rector
  • Bethlehem, Independent          Erected 1810              Attendance - morning 160, afternoon 139 scholars, evening 184            John Williams, Independent Minister, Aberhosan
  • Ebenezer, Congregational           Erected 1823             Attendance - morning 39 scholars, afternoon 67, evening 60                Evan Anwyl, Deacon, Penrhosymaen, Penegoes
  • Penegoes Chapel, Calvinistic Methodist            Erected 1840              Attendance - morning 26 scholars, evening 20            John Jones, Deacon, Druggist, Machynlleth
  • Talywern Chapel, Baptists                Erected 1819             Attendance - morning 121, afternoon 88 scholars, evening 143           Richard Evans, Deacon, Talywern, Penegoes

Church of St Cadfarch, Penegoes on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Ebeneser

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Aberhosan section (in Welsh) has been extracted   - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Dec 2010)     Also Penegos chapel - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Dec 2010)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1679-1993; Marriages 1679-1970; Burials 1679-1869; Banns 1823-1877
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Penegoes which are provided by:

Melin Crewi watermill, Penegoes c 1930 - on the People's Collection Wales site


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Penegoes has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH776009 (Lat/Lon: 52.592050, -3.808383), Penegoes which are provided by:


Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Mines and Quarries Inspectorate Montgomeryshire records           "Arranged into the following: Cwm Ricket and Maesnant lead mines, Llanidloes; Llanidloes, near Brynposteg Hill; Van Central, Llanidloes; Bwylch Creolan Mine, Pen-y-bont Fawr; Dyfngwm Mines, Hirnant Minerals Ltd; West Llangynog Mine; Dylife Mine, Llechwedd Ddu Mine, Penegoes"

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Penegoes Parish and Community Council records  1971-1987