GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

PENEGOES

Bibliography

Morgan, Wendy. Caeheulon and the parish of Penegoes : a collection of archive material for the family historian. Machynlleth : Coch-y-bonddu Books, 2003. 398p. Cover subtitle: the story of a Welsh farmhouse.  

Parish of Darowen: Beerseba C.M. Chapel, Melinbyrhedyn,Ty Cerrig W.M. Chapel, Commins Coch, Darowen Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Nebo Ind. Chapel, Cemmaes Road, Bethesda Chapel, Penegoes, Saron W.M. Chapel, Abercegir, Seion Baptist Chapel, Talywern: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2001.

Sheringham, J D T. Machynlleth and Penegoes land tax 1794, MONT. Q/RE L2 - N.L.W. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 73 (1985), p. 135-43

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Penegoes parish  1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 8085 acres; Population 479 males, 449 females, total 928

PENEGOES, St. Cadfarch   1875-1884  - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Cadfarch, Penegoes on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Ebeneser

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Aberhosan section (in Welsh) has been extracted   - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Dec 2010)     Also Penegos chapel - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Dec 2010)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Melin Crewi watermill, Penegoes c 1930 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Occupations

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Penegoes


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 3 Oct 2012 -  Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI