We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Pennant (Pennant Melangell)

Bibliography

Allchin, Arthur M. Pennant Melangell : place of pilgrimage. Pennant Melangell : Gwasg Santes Melangell, 1994. 46p

Britnell, W J. The boundaries of the parish of Pennant Melangell. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 1-8

Britnell, W J. Saint Melangell's shrine, Pennant Melangell. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 147-66

Britnell, W J. Excavation and recording at Pennant Melangell Church. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 41-102

Church of St. Melangell, Pennant Melangell : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society,2000, 72.  And 2003. 76p

Evans, Geraint G. Place-names and field-names of Pennant Melangell. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 9-22

Heaton, R B. A structural history of Pennant Melangell Church. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 103-25

Lloyd, M F H     Ty-ucha; An architectural report          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 43  1934   Welsh Journals Online  

Parkinson, Anthony J. Paintings and inscriptions in Pennant Melangell Church. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 139-46

Petley-Jones, David. Dates and patronymics at Pennant Melangell. Record: Journal of the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society. 17 (2000), p. 26-29

Ridgway, Maurice H.  Furnishings and fittings in Pennant Melangell Church. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 127-38

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph St Melangell, Pennant Melangell

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 5000 acres; Population 385 males, 364 females, total 749

  • Pennant Melangell Parish Church                  Attendance - average - morning 70, afternoon 20 + 35 scholars     Services in Welsh         "The Church is built in a detached and small portion of the Parish (from 4 to 10 miles distant from the body of the parish) and consequently few do or can conveniently attend it. A Church has been much wanted in the Lower Division, which contains a large majority of the inhabitants"            Maurice Jones, Vicar
  •  
  • Bethania, Independent          Erected 1824              Attendance - average -  morning 150 scholars, afternoon 10, evening 174              William Roberts, Independent Minister, Penybontfawr
  • Elim, Penante, Calvinistic Methodist                Erected 1839               Attendance - average - morning 45 scholars, afternoon 70       Robert Roberts, Elder, Talwrn Glo

Church of St Melangell, Pennant Melangell on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Penybontfawr  chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Sept 2010)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1680-3, 1685, 1689-1713, 1720-1991; Marriages 1685-6, 1691-1713, 1720-1971; Burials 1680-6, 1689-1713, 1720-1953
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives

Description and Travel

Historic Landscape Characterisation - Pennant Melangell in the Tanat Valley on the Clwyd Powys Archaeological Trust site

You can see pictures of Pennant (Pennant Melangell) which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Pennant (Pennant Melangell) has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

 


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ024265 (Lat/Lon: 52.827139, -3.450023), Pennant (Pennant Melangell) which are provided by: