GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

PENNANT (PENNANT MELANGELL)

Bibliography

Allchin, Arthur M. Pennant Melangell : place of pilgrimage. Pennant Melangell : Gwasg Santes Melangell, 1994. 46p

Britnell, W J. The boundaries of the parish of Pennant Melangell. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 1-8

Britnell, W J. Saint Melangell's shrine, Pennant Melangell. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 147-66

Britnell, W J. Excavation and recording at Pennant Melangell Church. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 41-102

Church of St. Melangell, Pennant Melangell : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society,2000, 72.  And 2003. 76p

Evans, Geraint G. Place-names and field-names of Pennant Melangell. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 9-22

Heaton, R B. A structural history of Pennant Melangell Church. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 103-25

Lloyd, M F H     Ty-ucha; An architectural report          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 43  1934   Welsh Journals Online  

Parkinson, Anthony J. Paintings and inscriptions in Pennant Melangell Church. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 139-46

Petley-Jones, David. Dates and patronymics at Pennant Melangell. Record: Journal of the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society. 17 (2000), p. 26-29

Ridgway, Maurice H.  Furnishings and fittings in Pennant Melangell Church. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 82 (1994), p. 127-38

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph St Melangell, Pennant Melangell

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 5000 acres; Population 385 males, 364 females, total 749

PENYBONT FAWR, St. Thomas, parish of Pennant   1853-1856    - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Melangell, Pennant Melangell on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Penybontfawr  chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Sept 2010)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Historic Landscape Characterisation - Pennant Melangell in the Tanat Valley on the Clwyd Powys Archaeological Trust site

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

 

Return to top

Pennant (Pennant Melangell)


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 10 Oct 2013  - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.