Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
Penystrywaid / Penstrowed
Parish of Penstrowed, Parish Church of St Gwrhai : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 28p
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of St Gwrhai, Penstrowed
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Parish statistics; Area 1220 acres; Population 60 males, 50 females, total 110
- Penstrowed Parish Church Attendance - morning 25 Services in English John Arthur Herbert, Rector
Church of St Gwrhai, Penstrowed on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1628-47, 1661-1974; Marriages 1628-47, 1661-1968; Burials 1628-47, 1661-1812, 1814-1994
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Penystrywaid / Penstrowed which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Penystrywaid / Penstrowed has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO069915 (Lat/Lon: 52.513382, -3.373356), Penystrywaid / Penstrowed which are provided by: