Nearby places
PONTROBERT
Parish of Llangyniew : Parish Church of St Cynyw, Bontnewydd Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Pontrobert Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Peniel Independent Chapel village inscription :
memorial inscriptions.[S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1999. 70p
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Williams, Lot, shoemaker's records 1856-1902 "John Williams (fl. 1857-1875) and Lot Williams (fl. 1857-1902) were shoemakers
based in Pontrobert, Montgomeryshire."
Church History
PONT ROBERT, St. John the Evangelist 1851-1853 - on the Church plans online siteJohn Hughes' Chapel, Pontrobert c 1920s - on the Gathering the Jewels site
Wesleyan chapel, Pontrobert in 1920s - on the Gathering the Jewels site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Capel Pontrobert, cofysgrifau (records)
1913-1914 "Adeiladwyd capel Pontrobert, Meifod, plwyf
Llangynyw, Sir Drefaldwyn yn 1800, ond fe'i defnyddiwyd fel ysgol am gyfnod pan
oedd John Hughes Pontrobert yn dysgu yno.
Ordeiniwyd ef yn weinidog gyda'r Methodistiaid yn 1814 a daeth yr adeilad yn
gapel eto, gyda John Hughes a'i wraig Ruth yn byw yn y ty. Gelwir y capel hwn yn
Hen Gapel John Hughes, ac ailagorwyd y drysau yn 1995 fel 'Canolfan Undod ac
adnewyddiad Cristnogol i'r genedl'.
Adeiladwyd Capel Newydd Pontrobert, a elwir hefyd yn Capel uchaf, yn 1865 ac
fe'i sefydlwyd yn yr un flwyddyn. Fe gostiodd dros £500 i'w adeiladu, ac fe
gliriwyd y rhan fwyaf o'r ddyled trwy gynnal casgliad cyffredinol trwy Sir
Drefaldwyn."
Church Records
A parish formed out of Meifod, Llangynyw & Llanfihangel-yng-Ngwynfa in 1854
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in
Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1853-1994; Marriages 1853-1970; Burials 1857-1994
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts - none detailed for the separate parish
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Return to top
Pontrobert
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[3 Feb 2008 - Gareth Hicks]