We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Pool Quay


Lewis, William J.  James Baker and the Pool Quay smelthouse. Montgomeryshire Collections 88 (2000), p. 25-35 Parish of Pool Quay : Parish Church of St.John the Evangelist: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , c2000 44p

Williams, David H. The Parish of Pool Quay with Arddleen (Ardd-Llîn) : a history. Aberystwyth : Rev. David H. Williams], 2003. 32p

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Church Records

A parish formed out of Cegidfa/Guilsford & Y Trallwng/Welshpool in 1863

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1863-1978; Marriages 1864-1970; Burials 1863-1978
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts - none detailed for the separate parish

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Pool Quay which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Pool Quay has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ256114 (Lat/Lon: 52.695125, -3.102338), Pool Quay which are provided by:

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses