Open a form to report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
"SNEAD (SNEYD, or IS NOWDD), a parish chiefly in the lower division of the hundred of MONTGOMERY, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 2 miles (N.) from Bishop's Castle, containing 57 inhabitants. This parish, of which a few fields are in the county of Salop, is about two miles in length and half a mile in breadth, and is watered by the river Camlet, which forms its northern boundary. ... The church is an ancient edifice, ..." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
- Willans, J B A history of the parish of Snead Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 35 1910 Welsh Journals Online
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Parish statistics; Area 644 acres; Population 32 males, 30 females, total 62
- Snead Parish Church Attendance - evening 14 "This church is served alternately with Hyssington one morning then other evening. This was a very windy day and cold" R Evans, Incumbent, Church Stoke, Shrewsbury
Church of St Mary the Virgin, Snead on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1665-1988 ; Marriages 1665-1952 ; Burials 1665-1984
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the Shropshire Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the Herefordshire Archives
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Snead which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Snead has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Ask for a calculation of the distance from Snead to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO315919 (Lat/Lon: 52.520628, -3.011007), Snead which are provided by: