GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

TREFEGLWYS

Bibliography

A Trefeglwys Charter       Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 33  1904   Welsh Journals Online

Bennett, Richard. Methodistiaeth Trefeglwys, 1754-1814. (Cyfnod Daniel Rowland a Thomas Charles). Llanidloes : John Ellis, [1932?] 68p

Edwardes, Evan         The registers of Trefeglwys         Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 33  1904   Welsh Journals Online   & Vol 33  1904   Welsh Journals Online

Evans, Charles. Perllan y dyffryn : neu, hanes crefyddol yn mhlwyf Trefeglwy. Dolgellau : Argraffwyd gan E.W. Evans, Swyddfa'r 'Goleuad', 1900. 148p

Jenkins, Hugh M. The history of education of Lower Trefeglwys. [Caersws] : [H.M. Jenkins], [1983?] 27p Monumental inscriptions. Parish church of St. Michael. No: MM1, ; Parish of Trefeglwys. [S.l] : Powys Family History Society, [1993] 95p

Morris, E Ronald. Lloyd of Cefnbarrach, Trefeglwys, Montgomeryshire. Cronicl Powys. No. 19 (1988), p. 12-15 Parish of Trefeglwys : Parish Church of St. Michael : memorial inscriptions. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Geneaological Society, 2003. 94p

Pryce, Huw. The church of Trefeglwys and the end of the 'Celtic' charter tradition in twelfth-century Wales. Cambridge Medieval Celtic Studies 25 (1993), p. 15-54

The registers of Trefeglwys             Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire  Vol 32  1902   Welsh Journals Online

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Trefeglwys parish 1841-1901

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Trefeglwys, St Michael

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Ebenezer CM Chapel, Llawryglyn

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 18166 acres; Population 923 males, 870 females, total 1793

TREFEGLWYS, St. Michael  1863-1865   - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Michael, Trefeglwys on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Zoar, and Llawryglyn English Wesleyan

Baptist churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Staylittle

Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site :-

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Penycoed chapel (in Welsh )  - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Dec 2010)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Trefeglwys, the Parish - "This site aims to be a comprehensive resource for a single parish and its people: Trefeglwys, Montgomeryshire."

Trefeglwys - on Wikipedia

Emigration and Immigration

Venedocia, Ohio  - "The original settlers of Venedocia Ohio came from farms near the towns of Llanbrynmair, Trefeglwys, and Darowen"

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Schools

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Trefeglwys


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 29 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.