Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Trallwng, Y / Welshpool

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Trallwng, Y / Welshpool

Bibliography

Bredsdorff, Eva B. Welshpool in old photographs. Stroud : Alan Sutton, 1993.  160p

Brown, Roger L. 100 and more years of service : a history of Church House, Welshpool. Welshpool : Roger L Brown, 1997. 9p

Brown, Roger L. The parish church of St Mary of the Salutation, Welshpool : a guide and history. Welshpool : Parochial Church Council, 1996. 17p

Brown, Roger L. The Welshpool churchyards : an essay. Welshpool : Parish of Welshpool, 2001. 14p

Brown, Roger L. Christ Church, Welshpool : a history and guide. Welshpool : Parish of Welshpool, 1996. 19p

Brown, Roger L. The Sayce papers. Volume 4, ; The Church of St Mary of the Salutation, Welshpool. Welshpool : Roger L Brown, 1998. 76p

Brown, Roger L. Welshpool personalities : seven people and a machine! Welshpool : The Rotary Club of Welshpool, 2001. 24p

Brown, Roger L. More Welshpool personalities : a pub, a club and six people. Welshpool : The Rotary Club of Welshpool, 2002. 24p

Brown, Roger L . Welshpool's personalities, treasures, and buildings : (being volume 3 in the series entitled Welshpool personalities). Welshpool : The Rotary Club of Welshpool, 2003.

Brown, Roger L. The clergy and people of Welshpool. Welshpool : Tair Eglwys Press, 2003. 115p

Brown, Roger L. The parish pauper and the poor law : the poor law in Welshpool 1733-1836 . Welshpool : Tair Eglwys Press, 2002. 109p

Cartwright, Ralph. The Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway. Newton Abbot : David and Charles, 1972. 207p

Cartwright, Ralph. Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway : a collection of pictures. Wrexham : Bridge Books, 1995. 72p

Davies, John E. Three Welshpool vicars : the clergymen of a Victorian town. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 76 (1988), p. 107-24

Davies, Richard. Leaves from the history of Welsh Nonconformity in the seventeenth century : being chiefly the autobiography of Richard Davies of Welshpool, Quaker (1636-1708). Newport : J. E. Southall, printer and publisher, 1899. 174p

Davies, Rupert. Welshpool sixty years ago : some reminiscences. Welshpool : Welshpool Rotary Club, 1993. 86p

Denton, John H. Welshpool railway station : a brief history. Welshpool : Welshpool Station Action Group, 1986. 16p

Edwards, William R. The family of William Edwards (1772-1830) of Welshpool & Berriew, Montgomeryshire. Guilsfield : Wm. R. Edwards, 1988.

Gibson, Alex. The timber circle at Sarn-y-bryn-caled, Welshpool, Powys : ritual and sacrifice in Bronze Age mid-Wales. Antiquity 66 (1992), p. 84-92 H. Payne's Welshpool and district penny almanack and household guide ... Welshpool : R. & M. Owen, 1906. 150p

Hornsey, Brian. Ninety years of cinema in Newtown, Welshpool, Port Talbot. Stamford : Fuschiaprint, 1995. 22p

Howell, Charles E     The association for the prosecution of Felons          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 33  1904   Welsh Journals Online

Howell, H Llewelyn   A notable musician, Richard Carte    Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 35  1910   Welsh Journals Online  

Howell, H Llewelyn        William Bowman, surgeon and scientist          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 40  1923   Welsh Journals Online

Hulbert, Charles A. Bodhilin, near Welshpool, Montgomeryshire, the residence of John Humphreys... : a descriptive sketch. Shrewsbury : C. Hulbert, pr., 1827. 14p

Owen, Mary Newill     Welshpool registers. some extracts from the old registers of St Mary's Church       Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 36  1912   Welsh Journals Online    

Owen, Robert. Some descriptive notices of the town and suburbs of Welshpool and a short historical sketch of Powis Castle. Welshpool : R. & M. Owen, 1902-3. 18p

Powis Castle : historical notes. Welshpool : R. & M. Owen, 1895. 16p

Smith, Donald J. The Welshpool & Llanfair Railway. Bracknell : Town and Country P, 1969. 68p The official guide to Welshpool. Cheltenham : Ed. J. Burrow, [19--?] 42p

The Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway = Rheilffordd Ysgafn Y Trallwng a Llanfair. [Welshpool] : Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway Preservation Co., 1984. 17p

Trant, Ion. The changing face of Welshpool. Welshpool : Powysland Club, 1986. 150p

Tudor, Geoffrey. The Tudors of Welshpool : an investigation into family history. [Torquay] : G. D. C. Tudor, 1990. 122p

Welshpool & Llanfair Railway pictorial. Truro : Barton, 1975. 48p

Welshpool Parish Book (Pool middle), 1765-1784        Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 33  1904   Welsh Journals Online

Welshpool Terriers          Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 38  1917   Welsh Journals Online  

Welshpool Tithe Commutation, 1840         Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 34  1907   Welsh Journals Online

Business and Commerce Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Howell, Jones and Yearsley, solicitors, Welshpool, papers  "Papers relating to the solicitors' firm of Howell, Jones and Howell, later Howell, Jones and Yearsley, [1845]-1938, comprising administrative and personal records of the solicitors, 1857-1907..............................."  
  • Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway, papers  1897-1923          "Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway, Montgomeryshire, opened in 1903, linking the rural communities around Llanfair Caereinion to the market at Welshpool. The line carried only freight from 1931 and closed in 1956...................."    and    ": Photographs of the Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway, 1971"  
  • Welshpool Gas Company Ltd, records 1830-1930    

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Welshpool parish 1841-1901

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Trallwng, Y / Welshpool area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Welshpool, Leighton Holy Trinity (see wikipedia for comment on this church on the Leighton Hall estate)

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Pool or Welshpool Town and Parish consisting of Cyfronydd Township, Pool Lower Division, Pool Middle Division (comprising the town) and Pool Upper Division;  statistics; Area 6801 acres; Population 2090 males, 2301 females, total 4391

  • Cyfronydd Township ; Area 607 acres; Population 28 males, 30 females, total 58
  • No returns
  •  
  • Pool Lower Division ; Area 2637 acres; Population 596 males, 693 females, total 1289
  • Welshpool Parish Church            Attendance - morning 507 + 236 scholars, evening 472 + 77 scholars               Services in English                W Clive, Minister
  •  
  • Bethel, Primitive Methodist               Erected 1836              Attendance - afternoon 30, evening 50, no Sunday school      "The chapel has been closed for 2 years and only reoccupied again the last 3 months"           James Barnes, Minister, Newtown
  •  
  • Pool Middle Division; Area (inc Upper Division) 3557 acres; Population 1177 males, 1255 females, total 2432
  • Christ Church Chapel of Ease without Cure of Souls              Consecrated 1845 as an additional church                  Attendance - morning 65, afternoon 208 + 220 scholars           W Clive, Incumbent
  •  
  • New Street, Congregationalists             Erected 1845                  Attendance - morning 118 + 16 scholars, eveing 114 + 15 scholars              "At this time without a settled minister. The Revd John Davies our late minister died Feby 9th 1851 which is a reason for the congregation being so much decreased"             G Parker, Deacon, Draper, Welshpool
  • High St, Welsh Independents         Bought by Welsh Independents in 1845        Attendance - morning 21 scholars, afternoon 80, evening 94             Robert Hughes, Minister, Lower Terrace
  • Wesleyan Chapel, Wesleyan Methodist            Erected 1818                 Attendance - morning 170, evening 203             Edward Watson, Wesleyan Minister, Welshpool
  • Ebenezer Chapel, Welsh Calvinistic Methodist               Erected 1818            Attendance - morning 61, afternoon 52, evening 92              E J Bebb, J Jones, Deacons; E J Bebb, Draper
  •  
  • Pool Upper Division; Population 289 males, 323 females, total 612
  • Belar, Church of England             National Schoolroom     Licensed for the performance of Divine service               Attendance - afternoon 60 + 40 scholars            W Clive, Vicar of Welshpool
  •  
  • Wesleyan Methodist            Not a separate building and not used exclusively as a place of worship               Attendance - afternoon 16              Edward watson, Wesleyan Minister, Welshpool

Church of St Mary, Welshpool on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Trallwm  chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Jan 2011)   Also Trallwm (Cymraeg) - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Jan 2011)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1634-1703, 1708-1992; Marriages 1634-1703, 1708-1986, (Christ Church Marriages 1965-71); Burials 1634-1703, 1708-1963; Banns 1960-86
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives 
  • Parish of Welshpool : Register of baptisms, 1634-1701. [S.1.]: Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 104p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of baptisms, 1701-1736. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 102p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of baptisms, 1736-1772. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002 150p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of baptisms 1772-1812. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, c2003. 146p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of baptisms, 1813-1837. [S.1.]: Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 174p
  • Parish of Welshpool : Register of baptisms, 1838-1861. [Welshpool?] : Montgomeryshire Geneaelogical Society, 2003. 162p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of burials, 1634-1701. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 82p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of burials 1701-1735. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, c2003. 62p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of burials 1735-1782. Welshpool] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society 2002. 110p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of burials 1782-1812. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, c2003. 92p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of burials, 1813-1842. [Welshpool?] : Montgomeryshire Geneaological Society, 2003. 116p
  • Parish of Welshpool : memorial inscriptions. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1998. 124p
  • Parish of Welshpool : Parish Church of St. Mary : memorial inscriptions. [Welshpool] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 160p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of marriages, 1634-1754. [Welshpool] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 56p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of marriages 1754-1782. [Welshpool] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2002. 36p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of marriages 1782-1812. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 58p
  • Parish of Welshpool : register of marriages 1813-1837. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 64p

Description and Travel

Welshpool - Where Wales begins

Welcome to Welshpool

Welshpool Castle on the Castle Wales site

Victorian Powys for schools site - Welshpool and the Severn Valley

Victorian Powys for schools site - The Earl of Powis and Powis Castle

Victorian Powys for schools site - John Naylor and Leighton Hall

Transport in Welshpool  - on the Powys A-Day in the Life site

Montgomeryshire Canal;  before the railways came - on the Victorian Powys site

Montgomery canal, Welshpool, c 1902 -  on the People's Collection Wales site

Your Community; Welshpool - on the CPAT site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Welshpool, Berriew and Montgomery, postcards, donated by Lancashire County Council  [1921]-1929
You can see pictures of Trallwng, Y / Welshpool which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Warren Williams, Marion, family papers     "Family and personal papers of Marion Warren Williams, 1864-1991, including scrapbooks containing notes, newspaper cuttings and printed ephemera, mainly relating to Guilsfield and Welshpool, Montgomeryshire, 1864-1991..................."   
  • Gregory-Allen family, papers     [1829]-1950    "The Allen family (later the Gregory-Allen family) of Welshpool, Montgomeryshire, moved to Maes Fron, Trewern, Montgomeryshire, and then to Canada"

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Trallwng, Y / Welshpool has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

 Montgomeryshire Yeomanry in Severn St, Welshpool, c1900  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Scrapbooks of Newspaper Cuttings  "Newspaper cuttings, 1978-1985, relating to Welshpool and Powys, 1978-1985, and Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire, 1978-1984."   
  • Scrapbooks and other items relating to Welshpool       "Ephemera relating to Welshpool and to Montgomeryshire generally, 1905-1977, including scrapbooks containing newspaper cuttings, obituaries and other items, 1905-1977; newspapers, 1945-1969; printed material and photographs, [1930s]-[1960s]."

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Wernllwyd estate, records  1747-1953            "The Downes Evans family lived at Wernllwyd, Welshpool, in the 19th and 20th centuries."  
  • Harrisons Solicitors, Welshpool, Records    "Records collected by Harrisons Solicitors, Welshpool, 1755-1965, including probate records, 1755-1965; deeds and related records, mostly relating to lands in Montgomeryshire and Denbighshire, 1858-1964; and miscellaneous papers, 1837-1908."  
  • Welshpool Deeds donated by David Pegg  1810 -[1899]    "The Kynaston family owned property in Welshpool, Montgomeryshire, during the 18th and early 19th centuries, and accumulated deeds relating to their properties"

Maps

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Welshpool in 1836, and 1901

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ225075 (Lat/Lon: 52.659637, -3.147280), Trallwng, Y / Welshpool which are provided by:

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;  

  • Newtown and Welshpool Libraries, archives           "Papers deposited by Newtown and Welshpool libraries, 1687-1990, including Llanwrin receipts, 1910-1923; sunshine records from Mellington Hall, Churchstoke, 1880-1885; Newtown and district midwife's registers, 1922-1970; miscellaneous certificates, letters and other papers, 1687-1943, including the will of Richard Jones, 1687; correspondence relating to music festivals, 1934-1938; occupiers' lists of voters in Meifod, 1891-1908; notes and documents of A. Stanley Davies relating to early banking in mid-Wales, 1831-1866, [20th century]; newspaper cuttings and printed matter, 1967-1990; Montgomeryshire topographical prints and engravings, 1775-1811; photographic negatives of Berriew, [20th century]; sales particulars relating to Montgomeryshire properties, 1873; maps relating to Welshpool relief road, 1974; ..................................."  
  • Powysland Club Archives       "Documents relating to Welshpool and Montgomeryshire, 1745-1982, including Robert Owen papers relating to Welshpool, 1745-1917, including poor rates, 1745-1792, Welshpool Vestry minutes, 1793-1849, and notes, [20th century]; ........................................."
  •  Powysland Museum Archives       "Powysland Museum archives, 1795-1974, including a tithe map for Llanfyllin parish, 1850; plans relating to Montgomeryshire, 1795-1889; diaries of Douglas Onslow, 1863-1872; diaries of unidentified Welshpool farmer and workman, 1937-1966; records of Welshpool Dispensary, 1827-1963, including minutes, 1827-1963, and financial records, 1932-1963; ..............................................."  
  • Welshpool Borough Council  1853-1977

Schools

Victorian Powys for schools site - Welshpool and district - Victorian school days