We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Bishton / Trefesgob

"BISHTON, (or Bishopstone), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of Caldicott, in the county of Monmouth, 6 miles to the E. of Newport. Caerleon is its post town. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Llandaff, value £51, in the patronage of the archdeacon. The church is dedicated to St. Cadwalader."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.  Check with  Gwent RO to see what extant records are held, and possible names of chapels/churches built after 1851.

Bishton parish; Statistics; Area 1211 acres; Population 114 males, 104 females, total 218

  • Bishopstone Parish Church - Attendance - afternoon 36+14 scholars   I service in English        Thomas Williams, Minister

Church Records

See the Monmouthshire county page for links to online records

  • This list of parish records is intended as a rough guide to coverage only. Their location as stated should be confirmed with the appropriate Record Office prior to any visit.
    Bishton / Trefesgob, St Cadwalader's Church - records with the Gwent RO
    Baptisms Marriages
    1793-1813 1800-1967
    Bishops Transcripts 1696, 1725-56, 1758-96, 1798-1819, 1823, 1826-43, 1845-57, 1859-68, 1870-1, 1873-7 - records with the NLW
    [Details as published in The Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 1986 - present location/availability may vary]

    Note: The above source has a note to the effect that (according to the 1831 survey of parish registers) an earlier parish register was stolen from the church in 1821.

You can see pictures of Bishton / Trefesgob which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bishton / Trefesgob has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bishton / Trefesgob to another place.

Maps

  • Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.  Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST386872 (Lat/Lon: 51.580254, -2.887533), Bishton / Trefesgob which are provided by: