Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llangatwg Lingoed / Llangattock Lingoed

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llangatwg Lingoed / Llangattock Lingoed

"LLANGATTOCK LLINGOED, a parish in the lower division of the hundred of Abergavenny, county Monmouth, 5 miles N.E. of Abergavenny, its post town, and 12 from Monmouth. It is situated on the river Trothy. The village consists of a few scattered houses. The living is a vicarage* in the diocese of Llandaff, value £144. The church is dedicated to St. Cadocus. The charities are worth about £6 per annum."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llangatwg Lingoed / Llangattock Lingoed area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.  Check with  Gwent RO to see what extant records are held, and possible names of chapels/churches established after 1851.

Llangattock Lingoed Parish; Statistics; Area 1926 acres; Population 110 males, 117 females, total 227

  • Llangattock Lingoed Parish Church    Attendance (average) - morning 50 + 46 scholars, afternoon 86 + 46 scholars  (alternating?)    1 service in English     John Price, Curate

Church Records

See the Monmouthshire county page for links to online records

  • This list of parish records is intended as a rough guide to coverage only. Their location as stated should be confirmed with the appropriate Record Office prior to any visit.
    Llangatwg Lingoed / Llangattock Lingoed, St Cadocus Church - records with the NLW
    Baptisms Marriages Banns Burials
    1696-1980 1696-1970 1819-37 1696-1982
    Bishops Transcripts 1696, 1725-1868, 1870-80 - records with the NLW
    [Details as published in The Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 1986 - present location/availability may vary]

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llangatwg Lingoed / Llangattock Lingoed which are provided by:


  • Site dedicated to the historic parish of Llangattock Lingoed - offers a wide range of genealogical & local history material, including tax, manorial records, census, directories, parish registers from 1697, &c.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llangatwg Lingoed / Llangattock Lingoed has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.  Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO361200 (Lat/Lon: 51.874852, -2.929637), Llangatwg Lingoed / Llangattock Lingoed which are provided by: