Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Matharn / Mathern

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Matharn / Mathern

"MATHERNE, a parish in the upper division of the hundred of Caldicott, county Monmouth, 2 miles S. of Chepstow, its post town, and 14 from Newport. It is situated on Matherne Pill, at which place the river Wye joins the Severn. A house called Monks Court is partly of the 15th century, and was inhabited by the bishops of Llandaff until 1706, but it is now converted into a farmhouse."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)

Bibliography

  • Coplestone-Crow, Bruce       A Grant of Lands in the Manor of Wallstone              Gwent Local History vol 87 1999    Welsh Journals Online   
  • Davies, E T. A history of the parish of Mathern. Mathern : Mathern Parochial Church Council, 1990. 68p.
  • Denison, Keith M. Mathern : history from the parish registers. Chepstow : Chepstow Society, 1977. 24p.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Matharn / Mathern area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.  Check with  Gwent RO to see what extant records are held, and possible names of chapels/churches established after 1851.

Matherne Parish; Statistics; Area 3281 acres; Population 238 male, 213 female, total 451

  • Mathern Parish Church              Attendance - morning 35, afternoon 40              2 services in English                Informant; Chrs Davis
  •  
  • Wesleyan Chapel             Erected 1832      Attendance - morning 7 scholars, afternoon 50, evening 40             Richard Pain, Chapel Steward

Church Records

See the Monmouthshire county page for links to online records

  • This list of parish records is intended as a rough guide to coverage only. Their location as stated should be confirmed with the appropriate Record Office prior to any visit.
    Matharn / Mathern, St Theodoric's Church - records with the NLW
    Baptisms Marriages Banns Burials
    1576-1630, 1656, 1661, 1663-4, 1669-1739, 1742-92 1565-1632, 1644-7, 1651, 1676, 1680, 1684-1739, 1754-1835 1819-35 1565-1645, 1664-7, 1676, 1679-80, 1684-1739, 1742-92
    Bishops Transcripts 1696, 1725-34, 1736-43, 1745-9, 1751-2, 1754-1826, 1828-76 - records with the NLW
    [Details as published in The Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 1986 - present location/availability may vary]
You can see pictures of Matharn / Mathern which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for Matherne from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Matharn / Mathern has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Matharn / Mathern to another place.

History

Maps

  • Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.  Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST523908 (Lat/Lon: 51.613950, -2.690324), Matharn / Mathern which are provided by: