Open a form to report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
A Pembrokeshire Bibliography
Books of General Interest for Family Historians
It is acknowledged that the principal source of the details of books etc included on these pages
is the online catalogues of the National Library of Wales
- Charles, B G. George Owen of Henllys. Aberystwyth, 1973.
- Harries, Phillip. Edgar Phillips Harries CBE (better known as 'EP') (NLW's site) Pemb Historian IV
- Miles, Dillwyn. Major Francis Jones, CVO, TD, MA, FSA, CstJ. (NLW's site) Pemb Historian V and VI
- Miles, Dillwyn. Richard Fenton: Pembrokeshire Historian, 1747-1821 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VII and Corrigendum Vol VIII
- Parry, Edward. The Revd Erasmus Saunders (NLW's site) Pemb Historian XIII
- Rees. David Sir Rhys ap Thomas The Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society, No.2, 1986-7 Welsh Journals Online
- Sil, N P. Sir William Herbert, Earl of Pembroke, 1507-1570: In search of a personality (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 11
- Thomas, J H. Pioneers of Public Health: Dr Timothy Richards Lewis (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VI
- Turvey, Roger. Sir John Perrot, 1528-1592 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian V
- Turvey, Roger. Admiration or Revulsion: Interpreting the Life, Career and Character of Sir James Perrot, 1571-1637 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian XI and Part 2 XII
- Walker, Margaret S. The Reverend Henry Vincent, 1793-1865: a neglected Pembrokeshire Antiquarian (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VI
- Gibson, J.S.W. and Medlycott, M.T. Local Census Listings 1522-1930 (2nd ed.), Birmingham, Fed. of Fam. Hist. Soc. (1994) 52 pp. [ISBN 1-872094-75-9]. Extracted are details of local censuses in Wales, listed by county - but there are no entries for Pembrokeshire
Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.
- Ball, Peter. Every Single One, Visiting the Churches of Pembroke.
- Barrow, Julia. [Ed]. St Davids Episcopal Acta 1085-1280. South Wales Record Society, 1998. Contains the Latin text of all the charters known to have been issued by the bishops of St Davids down to the death of Richard de Carew in 1280, with English summaries and notes.
- Brown, Roger L. A Squabbling squarson and a contentious Chancellor: Sir Erasmus Williams, Bt., Chancellor of St David's Cathedral (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VIII
- Evans, Eifion. A Presbyterian Album: South Pembrokeshire Presbyterian Churches 1913-1999, published in 2000 by the South Pembrokeshire Presbytery. It is a paperback of 212 pages with illustrations. Copies may still be available from Ebenezer Chapel, Haverfordwest (2011)
- Evans, John Thomas. The church plate of Pembrokeshire. : To which is added the Chantry certificates relating to the County of Pembroke by the Commissioners of Edward VI (1548); Extracts from the Returns of Church Goods in 6 & 7 Edward VI (1552-1553); and notes on the Dedications of Pembrokeshire Churches...London : W. H. Roberts, 1905. 147p?
- Evans, William/Symond, Oscar. The History of the South Pembrokeshire Calvinistic Churches. Wrexham, 1913.
- Evans, W. Methodistiaeth Lloegr Fach, Sir Penfro [ Methodism in Little England, Pembrokeshire]. 1909
- Fitzgerald & Knapp-Fisher. Pembrokeshire Churches,1989, Rosedale Publications
- Gray, Madeleine. The diocese of St Davids in 1563. Journal of Welsh Religious History 5 (1997), p. 29-56
- Greenway, W. The Election of David Martin, Bishop of St David's, 1293-6 .Journal of the Historical Society of the Church in Wales Vol. X, No. 15 (1960)
- *Griffith , Stephen (on behalf of Friends from Milford Haven Preparative Meeting). A History of Quakers in Pembrokeshire. 2nd impression 1995. Gomer Press, Llandysul.
- Himbury, D.M. Churches in fellowship: a short history of the English Baptist Associations in South Wales, Priory Press (1960) 27,  p.
- Howell, David. Primitive Methodism in Pembrokeshire: The Chapel in Rural Society . Pembrokeshire Historian,#7. Haverfordwest, 1981
- Hughes, Rev J R. Humour Sanctified: The Memoirs of Stephen Jenkins, The Quaint Preacher of Pembrokeshire. Abercynon, Glam. 2nd Edition, 1902, D R Davies, Maddock & Co
- James, David W James Allen: master of the fabric The Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society, No.3 1989 Welsh Journals Online
- *Jones, Anthony. Welsh Chapels. Alan Sutton Publishing Ltd (Stroud, Gloucestershire) in association with the National Museums & Galleries of Wales. Original published 1984 revised edition 1996.
- Jones, David. Hanes y Bedyddwyr yn Neheubarth Cymru [History of the Baptists in South Wales].Carmarthen, 1839 [ LDS GS 994005]
- Lewis, W M. Pennod yn Hanes Methodistiaeth Sir Penfro [ A Chapter from the History of Methodism in Pembrokeshire]. 1909
- Morgan, Enid. The church buildings of C19 Pembrokeshire: the impact of liturgical and architectural changes within the Church of England (NLW's site) Pemb Historian XIV
- Morgan, W T. Disciplinary Cases against Churchwardens in the Consistory Courts of St David's .Journal of the Historical Society of the Church in Wales Vol. X, No. 15 (1960)
- Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The PEM section of these books (in Welsh) is now fully extracted - some with translations
- Salter, Mike . The Old Parish Churches of South-West Wales. Malvern, 1994 .
- Saunders, Erasmus. A view of the state of religion in the diocese of St.David's about the beginning of the 18th century : with some account of the causes of its decay,together with considerations of the reasonableness of augmenting the revenues of impropriate churches . Cardiff : University of Wales Press, 1721
The Episcopal Registers of the Diocese of St.Davids, 1397-1518 : from the original registers in the Diocesan Registry of Carmarthen. London : The Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion, 1917. 3 v ; 25cm. Series title Cymmrodorion Record series ; No.6
The Welsh Church Year Book 1929. Published by The Representative Body of The Church in Wales. Cardiff, 1928. pp 624 including over 130 pages of biographies of clergy. A Cd containing a scanned copy of the book was published by Archives CD Books in 2002. With the permission of the latter part of the statistical data for parishes in the counties of Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire has been extracted onto those GENUKI parish pages. The Explanatory notes state that;
- Where parishes have been grouped or divided then the acreage is unreliable, some town figures are not given.
- Population figures are according to the 1921 census returns.
- Bosworth, Nikki. Church and Chapel Records at the Pembrokeshire Record Office. Dyfed FHS journal, vol 8/3 August 2003
- Ifans, Dafydd [ed]. Cofrestri Anghydfurol Cymru/ Nonconformist Registers of Wales. Aberystwyth, 1994. This book includes Ordnance Survey references for listed chapels.
- Jones, I.G. & Williams, D. The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Cardiff, 1976
- MacDonald, R W. The Parish Registers of Wales, National Library of Wales journal. 1976, Winter. Volume XIX/4
- Rawlins, B.J. The Parish Churches and Nonconformist Chapels of Wales: Their Records and where to Find them, Vol. One, Cardigan - Carmarthen - Pembroke. P.O. Box 510652, Salt Lake City, UT 84151-0652, Celtic Heritage Research (1987). [Provides details of [ but no personal names] parish registers at the National Library of Wales and at the Carmarthenshire Record Office, and very extensive details of the various types of nonconformist records, mainly held at the PRO or at the chapel concerned.This book has been used as a source of data of nonconformist records on the Genuki parish pages.
- Williams, C.J. and Watts-Williams, J. Cofrestri Plwyf Cymru: Parish Registers of Wales (National Index of Parish Registers, Vol. 13).Aberystwyth: National Library of Wales, Second edition,2000. This book has been used as a source of data of parish records and bishop's transcripts on the Genuki parish pages
- Foley, R. The Practice of the Court of Great Sessions for Carmarthen, Pembroke and Cardigan. 1792
Pre-1858 Welsh probate jurisdictions.South Wales & Monmouthshire : a genealogical research guide to probate courts having jurisdiction in the counties of Brecon, Cardigan, Carmarthen, Glamorgan, Monmouth (England), Pembroke, and Radnor .Salt Lake City, Utah, U.S.A. : Genealogical Society of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Inc., 1970
Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.
- Allen, Herbert. Little England Beyond Wales c. 1948.
Along the Cleddau in old Photographs 1990
- Awbery, G M. The term 'landsker' in Pembrokeshire (NLW's site) Pemb Historian IV
- Carradice, Phil. Exploring the Pembrokeshire Coast. Gomer Catalogue 2006. ISBN 1 84323 125 5
- Charles, B G. The second book of George Owen's "Description of Pembrokeshire" ', The National Library of Wales Journal, Vol. V, No. 4, Winter, 1948.
- Davies, M F. Pembrokeshire. 1939.
- Davies, Paul. A Company of Forts, A Guide to the Medieval Castles of West Wales. Published by Gomer, site intro; "As in the rest of Wales, the western counties of Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Ceredigion abound with reminders of a turbulent medieval past, - magnificent castles which grace the landscape, their inherent menace only somewhat subdued by the passing years. Paul R. Davies provides us here with an introduction to the history which led to the building of the medieval castles, and then divides the fortresses into three types - motte and bailey sites, stone-built castles and fortified manor-houses. The text is lavishly illustrated with photographs and line-drawn reconstructions, which vividly show the range of castles, both large and small, in West Wales, from mighty Pembroke and Carreg Cennen to the fortified manor-houses of Green Castle and Eastington and the atmospheric mounds such as Pencader and Llangadog......."
- Davies, Roger W. Old Pembrokeshire & Carmarthenshire. Llandysul: Gomer, 1991. p: ill, maps, ports; 20x23cm. [ISBN 0863837263]
- Davies, Roger W. Old Pembrokeshire. 1st imp. 1988 (Gomer Press) laminated boards, 96 repro. captioned postcards dated 1901-1936
- Evans, D E. Pembrokeshire Coast Scenery. Cardiff, 1973.
- Evans, R O/John, B S. The Pembrokeshire Landscape. Tenby, 1973.
- Fenna, John. Discovering Pembrokeshire by Bicycle. Gomer Catalogue 2006. ISBN 1 85902 768 7
- Fenton, Richard. A Historical Tour Through Pembrokeshire, 2nd edition 1903, facsimile edition by Dyfed County Council Cultural Services Department 1994.
- Gaillie, M. Little England's Other Half. Pembrokeshire Handbooks. Llanychaer, 1974.
- Griffiths, Bill. They Lived At Newton In Pembrokeshire. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol7/6 Dec 2001. Which one ? The article addresses the question of a geographical search for a common place name and some of the sources available to find an ancestor.
- Howells, B E & K.A The Extent of Cemais
- Howells, R. The Sounds Between. Llandysul, 1968 ; and Across the Sounds to the Pembrokeshire Islands. Llandysul, 1972.
- Howells, Roscoe. Pembrokeshire's Islands. Gomer, Llandysul. (1 85902 122 0) Gomer Catalogue 2002; - "Roscoe Howells's knowledge of the history of the island people and their way of life is unrivalled............"
Images of West Wales. Carmarthen Journal, 1999. Here is an index by Ruth Broad
- *John, Brian . Pembrokeshire.1976 (David & Charles). 227pp. + biblio. and index. 30pls., 6 figs., 6 maps.
- John, B S . The Rocks : Geology of Pembrokeshire. Pembrokeshire Handbooks. Llanychaer, 1973.
- John, B S. Ports and Harbours of Pembrokeshire.Pembrokeshire Handbooks, Llanychaer 1974.
- John, B.S. Great Grandfather's Little World. Old Pembrokeshire Photographs 1873-1934. 1975, Durham
- Lloyd, Thomas A Tour of Pembrokeshire in 1823 The Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society, No.3 1989 Welsh Journals Online
- *Lockley R. M. Pembrokeshire. May 1958 reprint (1st pub. Feb. 1957) (Robert Hale, London).163pp. inc. foreward, biblio. and index. 25 b/w photo. illus. sketch-map.
- Mais, S. P. B. Little England Beyond Wales. 1949 (Christopher Johnson). 139pp. 1 col. illus. 12 b/w illus.
- Miles, Dillwyn. Portrait of Pembrokeshire. Robert Hale, London, 1984.
- Mirehouse, Mary B. South Pembrokeshire. London, 1910.
- Morris, M G R. Romilly's Visits to Wales 1827-1854. Extracts from the Diaries of the Rev. Joseph Romilly. Gomer, 1998.
Here is a travel related extract from the book with Pembrokeshire relevance
- Owen, George of Henllys The Description of Penbrokeshire . 1892. There is also a version published by Gomer, Llandysul; ed by Dilwyn Miles. (Gomer catalogue 2002, 1 85902 120 4).
- Roberts, E & T. The Islands of Pembrokeshire. Pembrokeshire Handbooks, Llanychaer 1974.
- Seymour, J. About Pembrokeshire. Haverfordwest, 1971.
- Timmins, H T. Nooks and Corners of Pembrokeshire. 1895
- Turner, Jean C. A Pembrokeshire Album. ISBN 1 85902 799 7 . Gomer, site intro; " For those who enjoy the beauty of landscape, there can be few places to satisfy the eye and the spirit more than the county of Pembrokeshire..... Bounded on three sides by the sea, Pembrokeshire is loved by visitors, ..... drawn by the beauty of quiet places, majestic landscapes and historic settings. For others......the changing seasons and the deeply-rooted traditions provide infinite variety. For twenty-five years, Jean Turner has lived in Newport, at the foot of the Presely hills, observing and celebrating the life around her in atmospheric watercolour.
'The little county of Pembrokeshire is not without plenty of God's blessing as well as sufficient means for the people to live in good and plentiful sort'.'
George Owen (1603) - Elizabethan historian and Lord of Cemais ".
Victorian and Edwardian Wales from old photographs .Introduction and commentary by E D Jones. Batsford 1972. Here is a brief introduction and an index of the 154 photographs.
- Wight, M The County of Pembrokeshire
- William-Davies, John. Tom Mathias, Folk Life Photographer. Gomer site intro; " A selection of photographs from the Tom Mathias Collection and a resume of the photographer's life and work.A fascinating record of daily life in south Ceredigion and north Pembrokeshire at the end of the nineteenth century and during the early years of the twentieth century. "
- Brigstocke's Pembrokeshire Year Book 1904
Kelly's Directory of South Wales 1884 ,1910,1920.
Kelly's Directory of South Wales 1904
Pigot's Directory of South Wales 1835 . A classified directory of Nobility, Gentry, Clergy, Merchants, Bankers, Professional Gentlemen, Manufacturers and Traders - Not a listing of all residents or households.
- Pigot's Directories of North Wales, South Wales and Monmouthshire 1822-3
- Slater's Directory of South Wales and Monmouthshire 1850
Slaters Directory of North and South Wales 1858-1859
Worrall's Directory of South Wales : comprising the counties of Glamorgan Carmarthen, Pembroke, Cardigan, Brecknock and Radnor, with Newport, Monmouthshire. Oldham : John Worrall, 1875. ,436,174p. Includes 178p of advertisements.Includes index.
- Davies, Jennifer. The Ormond Family Go To America. Dyfed FHS journal Vol 6/4 Aug 1998. Places in Pembrokeshire mentioned; Winterton, Marloes, Dale, Haverfordwest. They sailed from Milford Haven/Liverpool in 1849 on the "Hartley" to New Orleans, then up the Mississippi to St Louis. Two daughters died en route from cholera.
- Lowe, Vera. Have you got Mormons in your Family Tree ? Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 8/1, Dec 2002. About the Pulley family.
- Nash, M D . 'The Settler Handbook' listing all those who emigrated to South Africa under the 1820 Settlers scheme. Over 1,000 families from across the country sailed on 17 ships on government assisted passages. There are certainly some from Wales e.g a group from Haverfordwest in 1820
- Bridgeman, Rev. The Hon. George T. O. History of the Princes of South Wales. 1976 (Wigan) 310pp. + intro. 11 genealogical tables
- Green , Francis [Ed] . West Wales Historical Records . The Annual Magazine of the Historical Society of West Wales. c 1920 in 14 volumes. Here is a listing of Contents
- Griffiths, Bill. Pembrokeshire Gentry, 15/19th The King's Royal Hussars and the Pilkingtons. Dyfed FHS journal Vol 6/5 Dec 1998
- Griffiths, Bill. Pembrokeshire Name-changers No's 1/2/3. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/8 Dec 1996. Richard Bulkeley Phillips/Grant of Narberth ; Rev James Henry Alexander Gwyther/Phillips re Picton ; Sir Charles Edward Gregg Fisher/Phillips re Picton.
- Griffiths, Bill. Pembrokeshire Name-changers No's 4/5. Dyfed FHS journal Vol 5/9 April 1997. The Meyrick family of the Bush Estate, Pembroke, and the Owen family of Orielton.
- Hore, Liz and Stuart Tamblin. Musters of Pembrokeshire Militia 1781-2
- Howells, Roscoe. A Pembrokeshire Pioneer. Bill Frost
- Hughes, Basil Notes on the Vaughan Families of Wales [Kindle Edition 2013]
- Inglis-Jones, Elisabeth. Pembrokeshire County Family in the Eighteenth century. Part I , National Library of Wales Journal, Volume 17. "Since the sixteenth century when a John Allen migrated there from Ireland, many branches of his descendants had inhabited Pembrokeshire.................In 1728 John Allen of Goodhooke raised his standing by his marriage with Joan Bartlett, heiress of Cresselly (in Jeffreyston parish), a fine estate with an ancient house standing on a coal-bearing headland above a tidal river and overlooking the far shores of Milford Haven"
- Jones, Caroline Charles (ed). Historic Pembrokeshire Homes and Their Families Extended Edition by Francis Jones. Brawdy Books 2001.
- Jones, Francis Major Lloyd of Cilciffeth The Pembrokeshire Historian vol 4 1972 Welsh Journals Online
- Jones, Francis[Major]. Historic Houses of Pembrokeshire And Their Families . 1996.
- Kirkwood, Bettye. Opus Agnes---Agnes Lewis and the Pembrokeshire name of Devonald. Dyfed FHS journal Vol 6/6 April 1999.
- Lloyd, Howell A. The Gentry of South-West Wales 1540-1640. Cardiff, 1968
- Lowe, Vera. The Devereux Inheritance. Dyfed FHS journal Vol 5/9 April 1997. See also under Dale parish.
- Lowe, Vera. Some Pembrokeshire Devereux. Haverfordwest, 1974.
- Lowe, Vera. The Mortimers in Pembrokeshire and Cardiganshire and Related Families. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 7/6 Dec 2001.
- Lowe, Vera. Gibbon of Pembrokeshire . Dyfed FHS journal,1995 This is a survey of people named Gibbon, found in Pembrokeshire and Glamorgan, based on a thorough search of manuscripts and the writer's personal connections and knowledge.
- McGarvie, Michael. The Meyricks of Bush, the Story of a Pembrokeshire Family. 1988.
- Newbury, Paul A R. The Isitts of Pembrokeshire. Part I. Dyfed FHS journal Vol 5/7 Aug 1996. Part II, Vol 5/9 April 1997.
- Owen, Bob. Antony Stokes: H M Chief Justice of the Province of Georgia (1769-1782) (NLW's site) Pemb Historian Vol I
- Owen, Henry . Old Pembroke families in the ancient county palatine of Pembroke. : compiled in part from the Floyd MSS.London : Pub. for the author by C. J. Clark, 1902. 138 p.
- Phillips, Sir Thomas (ed.) Pedigrees of Caermarthenshire, Cardiganshire, and Pembrokeshire, in continuation of Lewis Dwnn [i.e. of the pedigrees recorded by him in his Heraldic Visitations], to about the years 1700-10, from the MS. of John P. A. L. Philipps, etc. Jacobus Rogers, Middle Hill (1859) pp. 4. 44. fol. [BM Tab.436.b.4.(3.)]
- Picton, Glyn. General Sir Thomas Picton and the Pictons of Pembrokeshire (NLW's site) Pemb Historian Vol I
- Theakston, Lucy E. Lloyd & Davies, John. Some family records & pedigrees of the Lloyds of Allt yr Odyn, Castell Hywel, Ffos y Bleiddiaid, Gilfach Wen, Llan Llyr, Waun Ifor.Oxford: Fox, Jones & Co (1913). Counties - Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. Family names - Lloyd, Philipps, Allen Estates/properties - Allt yr Odyn, Castell Hywel, Ffos y Bleiddiaid, Gilfach Wen, Llan Llyr, Waun Ifor, Llanfair Clydogau, Maes y Felin, Highmead, Pantstreimon.
- Thomas, J H. The diaries of a Pembrokeshire man, 1876-1905 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian IV
- Turvey, Roger. Pembrokeshire Probates 1344-1603: a provisional list (NLW's site) Pemb Historian IX
- Van Dulken, Steve. The Voyle family of Pembrokeshire and India (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VI
Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.
- Carradice, P. The Last Invasion: The story of the French landing in Wales, Pontypool Torfaen, Village Publishing (1997). [A very readable and well-illustrated detailed account - complete with extensive references to primary sources and bibliography.]
- Chrimes, S B. The Landing Place of Henry of Richmond,1485 (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 2
- Davies, D J. The Economic History of South Wales prior to 1800, Cardiff, 1933
- Davies, Roger W. Old Pembrokeshire & Carmarthenshire. Llandysul: Gomer, 1991. p: ill, maps, ports; 20x23cm. [ISBN 0863837263]
- *Davis, Paul.R. Historic West Wales.Christopher Davies, 1992. Another book about West Wales, covering Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. It is mainly a tour about 150 places such as prehistoric monuments, churches, castles,wells and old houses.
- Edwards, Emily H. Castles and Strongholds of Pembrokeshire. Tenby 1909.
- Evans, Ceri. Y faled a therfysgoedd Becca yn ne orllewin Cymru, 1839-43 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian IX and Part 2 Vol X
- Filip, J Celtic Civilisation and its Heritage Prague 1962
- Green , Francis [Ed] . West Wales Historical Records . The Annual Magazine of the Historical Society of West Wales. c 1920 in 14 volumes. Here is a listing of Contents .
- Griffiths, Ivor. The Rebecca Riots. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5, no 2, Dec 1994, pp 60-68
- Howard, D.W. Pembrokeshire gentry in the eighteenth century. In Camarthenshire studies, pp.158-185, Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire County Council, (1974).
- Howell, David W. Pembrokeshire County History, vol IV, Modern Pembrokeshire, 1815-1974 1993
- Howells, B., (Ed.). Early Modern Pembrokeshire 1536-1815 (Pembrokeshire County History, vol III), Haverfordwest, , Pembrokeshire Historical Society 1987.
- Howells, B E/KA [Ed]. Pembrokeshire Life 1572-1843. Haverfordwest, 1972.
- Howells, B E. Elizabethan Pembrokeshire : the evidence of George Owen .Haverfordwest : Pembrokeshire Record Society, 1973. 158p
- Hughes, Basil. Jottings and Historical Records with Index on the History of South Pembrokeshire Vol. 1 1066-1389. ISBN 1 898687 00 5 . Contains all the public records and ecclesiastical records that the author has come across relating to South Pembrokeshire 1066 to 1389 with an index. (Now on kindle books)
- Hughes, Basil. Jottings and Historical Records with Index on the History of South Pembrokeshire Vol. 2 Manorial Accounts 1324 - 1333. ISBN 1 898687 02 1. (Now on kindle books)
- Hughes, Basil. Jottings and Historical Records with Index on the History of South Pembrokeshire Vol. 3 1389 - 1535 . ISBN 1 898687 08 0 Contains all the public records and ecclesiastical records that the author has come across relating to South Pembrokeshire 1389 to 1535 with an index. (Now on kindle books)
- Hughes, E Ernest Pembrokeshire historians Journal of the Welsh Bibliographical Society vol 5/1 1937 Welsh Journals Online
- John, A H. The Industrial Development of South Wales, 1750-1850. UWP, 1950
- John, Brian. Pembrokeshire Past and Present ; Greencroft Books 1995...Indexed.
- John, Mary. The Bi-centenary of the Fishguard Landing, 1797-1997, a Select Bibliography (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VII
- John, Mary. Recent publications relating to the history of Pembrokeshire (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VII and also Vol VIII
- *Jones, Francis[Major]. The Francis Jones Treasury of Historic Pembrokeshire.Brawdy Books, Newport, Pembrokeshire (1999) 330 p.
- Laws, E. The History of Little England beyond Wales and the non-Kymric colony settled in Pembrokeshire, London, G. Bell (1888) xiv, iv, 458 p.,  leaves of plates (some folded) : p., ill. [Reprinted Haverfordwest: Cultural Services Department, Dyfed County Council, 1995].
Here is an extract relating to the French Invasion of 1797 with various people and places in Llanwnda parish mentioned.
Also an extract containing a description of how cottagers and farmers lived
- Leach, A L. The History of the Civil War in Pembrokeshire and its Borders. 1937
- Lewis, J M. The Standing Stones of Pembrokeshire (NLW's site) Pemb Historian II
- Lewis, T.E., Jones, J.T. and Lewis, H. Local heritage from Efailwen to Whitland: comprising the history of the parishes of Climaenllwyd, Hellanfallteg, Llanboidy, Llandysilio, Llanddewi Velfrey, Whitland 2 vols), Clunderwen, The Author (1976). [ISBN: 0902126059 (v. 2)]
- Lewis, T P. The Story of Wales, Pembrokeshire Edition, Book 1. Llandybie, 1959.
- Miles, D. Sheriffs of the county of Pembroke, 1541- 1974: together with a list of the sheriffs of the town and county of Haverfordwest, C. I. Thomas & Sons (1976) 109 p.
- Miles, Dillwyn . The Lords of Cemais 1997
- Miles, Dillwyn. The study of local history in Pembrokeshitre (NLW's site) Pemb Historian IX
- Moore, D[ed]. The Land of Dyfed in Early Times. Cardiff, 1964.
- Morgan, W R (Comander, RN, ret). A Pembrokeshire Countryman Looks Back. Published by author in 1998. There is no ISBN. It was printed by Five Arches Press, Tenby.
- Owen, H. Pembrokeshire Lay Subsidies 1543. West Wales Historical Records, iv, 1914
- Phillips, H . The History of Pembrokeshire. 1909
- Quinault, Roland. The French Invasion of Pembrokeshire in 1797: a Bicentennial Assessment (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 19
- Raggett, Paul. From Roch to Ramsey the St. Davids Peninsula - Social history in words and many pictures, mostly named people, 1999.
Rebecca Riots . Commissioners Report (1844) into the conditions in South Wales which contains a lot of background evidence and comment by Dyfed people. Backed by contemporary press extracts relating to the Rebecca Riots in the Llanelly, Llannon and Pontardulais areas. Indexed by witnesses.
- Rees, S. A Guide to Ancient and Historic Wales : Dyfed. HMSO/CADW, 1992. 241p. A guide to c 150 archaelogical sites in the counties of Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire.
- Richards, W L. Pembrokeshire Under Fire
- Roberts, Andrew J. William Roblin: a Pembrokeshire Murderer or 'Intemperate Passion' (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VII
- Roche, John. Roman Pembrokeshire (NLW's site) Pemb Historian V
- Salmon, D. The French Invasion of Pembrokeshire in 1797: Official documents, contemporary letters, and early narratives, West Wales Historical Records, vol. 14, (1925 (1929?)) pp.129-206.
- Samuel, Wynne I. The ancient laws of Dyfed (NLW's site) Pemb Historian vol III
- Stickings, T G. Castles and Strongholds of Pembrokeshire. Tenby, 1973.
- Stuart Jones, E.H. The Last Invasion of Britain, Cardiff, Univ. of Wales Press (1950) 324 p. [A scholarly account of the Franch invasion of 1797].15 plates. 3 maps
The Cambrian Journal Volume 1 , 1854. Published under the auspices of the Cambrian Institute. London, Longmans & Co; Tenby, R Mason. Includes an extracted article styled 'The Industrial Capacities of South Wales'.
- Turvey, R. K. (Roger Kenneth) . The marcher shire of Pembroke and the Glyndwr rebellion (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 15 (1990), p. 151-68
- Turvey, Roger. The death and burial of an excommunicate prince: the Lord Rhys and the Cathedral Church of St David's (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VII and Part 2
- Turvey, Roger. The jurisdiction and comital authority of the earls Palatine in medieval Pembrokeshire (NLW's site) Pemb Historian IV
- Walker, R. F. (Ronald F.) The supporters of Richard Marshal, Earl of Pembroke, in the rebellion of 1233-1234. Welsh History Review 17 (1994), p. 41-65
- Boswell, Nikki (Archivist, Pem RO). Land Tax Assessments. Dyfed FHS journal Vol 8/6 August 2004
- Barnwell, E L. Domestic Architecture of South Pembrokeshire, in Archaeologia Cambrensis. 1867, pp193-204, 363-74; 1868, pp70-84
- Davies, Margaret F. The Land of Britain [Report of the Land Utilisation Survey of Great Britain, Part 32- Pembrokeshire. 1939
- Fox, Cyril[Sir]. Peasant Crofts in North Pembrokeshire,. in Antiquity 1937, pp 427-40.
- Fox, Cyril[Sir]. Some south Pembrokeshire cottages, Antiquity, no. XVI, 1942
- Green, F. Pembrokeshire Hearths in 1670. West Wales Historical Records, ix-xi, 1923/5
- Grimes, Yvonne. Unusual Sources---The Manorial Records of Cemais. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 4/9 April 1994.
- Howell, D W. The Economy of the Landed Estates of Pembrokeshire c 1680-1830 (NLW's site) The Welsh History Review, 3, no 3, 1967, p278
- Howells, Brian and John. Peasant Houses in Stuart Pembrokeshire. National Library of Wales journal, vol XXI/4, Winter 1980.
- Howells, Brian. Open fields and farmsteads in Pembrokeshire (NLW's site) Pemb Historian Vol III
- Howells, David. Landed society in Pembrokeshire c 1680-1830 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian vol III
- Hughes, Basil. Estate of the Earldom of Pembroke; including the names of the major land holders and extent of their holding. Information on part of the manor of Castlemartin including a list of tenants and bondservants Kyngeswode - very detailed records of a manor which employed casual labour and giving details of the crops, livestock and wages. Pembroke Castle inventory, Mills of Pembroke, property of the Bishop of St. David's in the South Pembrokeshire area including, the names of tenants.
- Hughes, Basil Pembrokeshire Jottings - Land Tax 1791/2 Castlemartin Hundred[Kindle Edition 2013]
- Hughes, Basil Jottings Pembrokeshire Hearth Tax 1670 [Kindle Edition 2013]
- James, Brian Ll. The Great Landowners of Wales in 1873. National Library of Wales journal. 1966, Summer Volume XIV/3
- Jones, Francis. The Pembrokeshire Land Tax Assessent for 1786. The Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society, No.2, 1986-7 Welsh Journals Online
- Scott, E J L. Some original documents relating to the south part of Pembrokeshire, Journal of the Archaeological Association, vol. XLI
- Vincent, J E. The Land Question in South Wales. London, 1897
- Awbery, G M. The term 'landsker' in Pembrokeshire Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society vol 4 1990/91 Welsh Journals Online
- Charles, B G. The English Element in Pembrokeshire Welsh. 1971.
- Harris, P. Valentine South Pembrokeshire Dialect
- John, Brian S The linguistic significance of the Pembrokeshire landsker The Pembrokeshire Historian vol 4 1972 Welsh Journals Online
- Southall, John E. Wales and her Language. 1892 Here is that part of the map from the book illustrating the 'landsker'
The Landsker borderlands: Its history and landscape Dyfed Archaeological Trust; ISBN-10: 1874568006 ISBN-13: 978-1874568001 Taf and Cleddau Rural Initiative 1993
- Bowen, E G Seafaring along the Pemrokeshire coast in the days of the sailing ships The Pembrokeshire Historian vol 4 1972 Welsh Journals Online
- Campbell-Jones, Susan. Welsh Sail.Gomer 1976. Here is an index by Mary Jane Stephenson
- Chester, Barbara. Trinity Lighthouses and Keepers. Dyfed FHS journal, vol 8/3 August 2003
- Crsoby, Alan G. By tempest and piracy: the loss of Mersey salt vessels off Pembrokeshire, 1695-1715 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian XII
- Davies, Peter B S. Deadly Perils. Coastal shipping, cargoes, shipwrecks around the coast and islands of Pembs. 1999
- George, B. Pembrokeshire Sea-Trading Before 1900, Field Studies Council (1964).
- Goddard, Ted Pembrokeshire Shipwrecks
- Heaton , P.M. Welsh Shipping - Forgotten Fleets 1989. Biographical details restricted mainly to owners & managers, and details of ships owned. Here is an index by David Webb .
- Jenkins, David [principal author]. The Maritime Heritage of Dyfed . NLW: 1982
- Jenkins, J. Geraint . The Inshore Fisherman of Wales.1st ed. 1991 (Univ. Wales Press). 154pp. + notes and index. 50pls., 1 map, figs.,
- Matthews, M D. Mercantile shipbuilding activity in south-west Wales, 1740-1829 (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 19
- Moore-Colyer, R J. Of Lime and Men: Aspects of the coastal trade in lime in south-west Wales in the C18th & C19th. (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 14
- Phillips, Lawrence. Some Pembrokeshire sea officers (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VIII and Part 2 vol IX
The People of Dyfed and the sea. Dyfed FHS journal Vol 6/4 Aug 1998. An extensive article, pp 134/142 describing resources available and several examples found at the various county Archives. Other headings include ; Steam Packets, Pembroke Dockyard and Pembrokeshire Lighthouse Keepers on the 1891 census.
A True relation of the routing His Majesties forces in the county of Pembroke, under the command of the earl of Carbery, by those valiant and courageous gentlemen, Colonell Rowland Langharne, John Poyer, Simon Thelwall, Thomas Langharne and others ... : as it was sent in two severall relations of the land-fight and sea-fight, the one to the Right Honourable Robert, earl of Warwick, the other to the Honourable William Lenthall, Esquire, speaker of the House of Commons ... Publisher London : Printed for Edw. Husbands, 1644. 16p
- Davies, Reginald[Dr]. Welshmen at the Battle of Trafalgar Was your ancestor a one legged survivor of the Battle ?. Part I. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/5 Dec 1995. Concentrates on the story of one man, James Davis of Pembroke.
- Davies, Reginald[Dr]. Welshmen at the Battle of Trafalgar [21 Oct 1805]. Part II. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/6 April 1996. The author refers to the index he has produced of all Welshman at the battle.
- Hackett, Ted. Pembrokeshire Muster Books for 1613. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 4/9 April 1994.
- History of the Pembrokeshire Yeomanry 1794-1959
- Howell, R.L. The Pembroke Yeomanry (NLW's site) The Pembroke Historian, vol. 2, (1966) pp.75-81.
- Howell, R.L. Pembroke Yeomanry, Dyfed County Council, Cultural Services Dept (1987).
- Jones, Francis. 'An Echo of 1797' (NLW's site) Pemb Historian vol iii
- Miles, Dillwyn. The letters of Lieutenant John George of the Marines, 1799-1808 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian X and Part 2 Vol XI
- Owen, Bryn. History of the Welsh militia and volunteer corps, 1757-1908 Wrexham, Clywd: Bridge Books, 1989. Vol 4, pt. 2. Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire & Cardiganshire
- Retallack, John . The Welsh Guards Foreword by H R H The Prince if Wales. Published (1981) by Frederick Warne (Publishers) Ltd. London. Here is an index by Allen Powell .
- Sinnett, R J M[Lt Col]. The Royal Welch Fusiliers at the Battle of Waterloo. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/4 Aug 1995. Lists 50 names of soldiers who came from the 3 Dyfed counties.
- Walker, R F. The Pembrokeshire Yeomanry in the South African War, 1900-1902 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian XI
- Charles, B.G. The Place-Names of Pembrokeshire, Aberystwyth, 2 vols(1992).
- Harris, P V. Place Names and Dialects of Pembrokeshire. 1974
- Celtic Educational Ltd. Welsh First Names for Children - Their meanings explained . 1978
- Griffiths, Bill. The Origins of Pembrokeshire Surnames. Dyfed FHS journal Vol 7/3 Dec 2000.
- Hughes, Basil. Some Names in the History of South Pembrokeshire.ISBN 1 898687 09 9 A list of the names, in alphabetical order, relating to South Pembrokeshire History that the author has had contact with plus the source. It includes the clergy, 1670 Hearth Tax, Mayors of Pembroke etc.
- Hughes, Basil Some Names in the History of Pembrokeshire [Kindle Edition 2013]
- Lloyd, Annie. Welsh Surnames and Given Names, 1996
- Morgan, T J/Morgan, Prys. Welsh Surnames. UWP, 1985.
A Guide to Local Newspapers in Dyfed. Dyfed County Council Archives Department.
Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.
- Claughton, Peter F. Greenhill Ochre Mine, Friends Pembrokeshire Museums Journal, Autumn 1976, p. 10.
- Colyer, Richard. The Welsh Cattle Drovers (1976). Here is a contents listing/introduction and an index by Catherine Davies-Shiel. Reissued in 2002 by Landmark Publishing Co, with revision of some chapters, now p192.
- Colyer, R. J. Moore. Further References to the Welsh Cattle Trade. National Library of Wales journal. Volume XXV/3 Summer, 1988. Extract of this article by Bill Griffith-Jones 2002
- Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 1 National Library of Wales journal. 1972, Winter Volume XVII/4
- Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 2 National Library of Wales journal. 1974, Summer. Volume XVIII/3
- Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 3 National Library of Wales journal. 1975, Summer. Volume XIX/1
- Connop-Price, M R . Pembrokeshire - The Forgotten Coalfield. 2004,Landmark Publishing, 254p.
Chapter headings; The Geological Background; The Chronological Development of the Coalfield; Landlords and Leases; Mining Technology and Methods; Labour and Labour Relations; Health and Safety; Mining Transport; Coal Shipping and Ships; The Coal and Culm Trades; Coal Society; Conclusions.
- Connop-Price, Martin. Coal, culm and Cresswell Quay: some aspects of the Pembrokeshire Coal Industry in the C18 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VI
- Davies, Alun Eirug. Paper-Mills and Paper-Makers in Wales 1700-1900. , National Library of Wales journal. 1967, Summer Volume XV/1
- Davies, J Ll. The Livestock Trade in West Wales in the C19th. Aberystwyth Studies, XIV, 1936, pp99 and 108
- Davies, Peter S. Forgotten Mines . Copper and lead mines in area [Pem] 1800's. 1995
- Davies, Peter B S. Dewisland Kilns
- Edwards, George.The Coal Industry in Pembrokeshire, reprinted from Field Studies, Vol. 1, No. 5 (1963), pp. 33 - 64.
- Hall, G W. Metal Mines of Southern Wales, Kington, 2nd. edn., published privately, 1993 - A detailed account of mining in the pre Carboniferous rocks of south Cardiganshire, Pembrokeshire, Carmarthenshire and Brecknockshire
- Hassall, C. Agriculture of Pembrokeshire. London, 1794.
- Hassall, C. A general view of the agriculture of the county of Pembroke London, 1794
- Howells, B E. Pembrokeshire Farming c. 1580-1620 . The National Library of Wales Journal. 1955 Winter Vol. IX, No. 2 , part one. Also part two 1956 Summer Volume IX/3 . And part three 1956 Winter Volume IX/4
- Howells, Wm. Clogmakers of Pembrokeshire.
- Jenkins, J Geraint. Pembrokeshire and the woollen industry (NLW's site) Pemb Historian vol II
- Jenkins, D. The Agricultural Community in South-West Wales at the turn of the 20th Century. Cardiff, 1971
- John, B S. Old Industries of Pembrokeshire. The Face of Wales series, No 2. Lanchester, 1974. Has sections on ;- Quarrying Industries; Metal Mines and Metal Working; Ship-Building; Coal Mining; Mills and factories; Rural Crafts
- Johnson, Keith. The Pubs of Pembroke, Pembroke Dock, Tenby and South Pembrokeshire. Logaston Press, Little Logaston, Woonton, Alemley, Herefordshire HR3 6QH ISBN 1 904396 07 0.
- Jones, F. Some Farmers of Bygone Pembrokeshire. Cymmrodorion, 1943-4, p 145
- Jones, R W. The History of the Pembrokeshire Police Force, Caernarvon,1957
- Kennedy, R A. Prendergast Paper Mill. 1985
- Morris, J H/Williams,L J. The South Wales Coal Industry 1841-1875. 1958.
- Pike, Jonathan. Dyfed Apprentices in Eighteenth Century Bristol. Dyfed FHS Journal 5 (Aug. and Dec. 1996). [Powell Family of St Clears, Meyler Family of Haverfordwest, Protheroe Family of Molleston, Bowen Family of Pembroke]
- Price, Martin Connop Coal, Culm and Cressswell Quay: some aspects of the Pembrokeshire coal industry in the eighteenth century The Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society, No.6, 1994/5 Welsh Journals Online
- Rees, Derek. Rings and Rosettes-the history of the Pembrokeshire Agricultural Society 1784-1977. Gomer, 1977?, 1st ed., 234 pp, subs list, 35 b&w plates.
- Roberts, Dafydd. Nhw oedd y Chwarelwyr -Arwyr y Fro: The Pembrokeshire Slate Quarrymen. Llafur: Journal of Welsh Labour History/Cylchgrawn Hanes Llafur Cymru Vol. 5, No. 1. 1988 (Aberystwyth). The theme is the north-west Wales connection and there are snippets based on this article on Not everyone knows this.., inc. several personal names.
- The geology of the South Wales coalfield. : Part XIII. The country around Pembroke and Tenby . Great Britain. Geological Survey. Edition 3d ed. London : H. M. Stationery Off., 1964- pts. illus., maps, diagrs : tables
- *Toulson, Shirley/Forbes, Caroline. The Drovers' Road of Wales. II Pembrokeshire and the South. Whittet Books Ltd, 1992 This is the second book in the series and covers from the Englishry of Pembrokeshire around Angle and Castlemartin up through Carmarthenshire, across from Ceredigion through Gower into Glamorgan and over the Black Mountains into the Welsh Marches.
- Tucker, Gordon and Mary. The Old Slate Industry of Pembrokeshire and Other Parts of South Wales. National Library of Wales journal. 1983, Winter. Volume XXIII/2. Extract by Bill Griffith-Jones
- Jones, J Graham. Major Gwilym Lloyd-George and the Pembrokeshire Election of 1950 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian XI
- Jones, J Graham. Desmond Donnelly and Pembrokeshire politics, 1964-70. (NLW's site) Pemb Historian XII
- Matthews, Ioan. Pembrokeshire County Politics, 1860-80 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian IX
- Thomas, P D G. Orielton versus Picton Castle: County Elections in Pembrokeshire, 1765-1786 (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VI
- Thorne, Rowland The Pembrokeshire Elections of 1807 & 1812 The Pembrokeshire Historian vol 6 1979 Welsh Journals Online
- Williams, D. The Pembrokeshire Elections of 1831 (NLW's site) The Welsh History Review, i, 1, 1960
Rules, orders and regulations for the government of the gaol, and bridewell or house of correction of the County of Pembroke. London : Printed by Barnard & Farley, 1820. 72p
- Hughes, Basil. More Names in the History of Pembrokeshire Hearth Tax 1670 . ISBN 1 898687 06 4 . List of the heads of most of the households in Pembrokeshire in 1670.
- Lewis, E A. The Toll Books of some North Pembrokeshire Fairs (1599-1603), The Bulletin of the Board of Celtic Studies, vol. vii, part iii, November, 1934.
- Owen, H [ed]. A Calendar of the Public Records Relating to Pembrokeshire. 3 Vols, 1918
- Davies, Damian Walford and Anne Eastham. Saints and Stones. Gomer Catalogue 2006. ISBN 1 84323 124 7 "Four Pilgrim Trails in Pembrokeshire are described in this richly illustrated book...."
- Davies, G Henton Aspects of the Baptist presence in Pembrokeshire The Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society, No.2, 1986-7 Welsh Journals Online
- Dickman, H J Wesleyan Methodism in Pembrokeshire The Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society, No.3 1989 Welsh Journals Online
- Eastham, Michael. Pilgrimage chapels in northern Spain and west Wales (NLW's site) Pemb Historian XIII
- Howell, David Primitive Methodism in Pembrokeshire: the chapel in a rural society The Pembrokeshire Historian vol 7 1981 Welsh Journals Online
- James, Heather. The cult of St David in the middle ages (NLW's site) Pemb Historian VII
- Jones, Francis [Major] . Disaffection and Dissent in Pembrokeshire.Transactions of the Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion, . Session 1946-47. 1948 (London)
- Williams, Glanmor. The Reformation in Pembrokeshire down to 1553 Pemb Historian Vol I
- Davies, B L. British Schools in South Wales, The Rev William Roberts (Nefydd), South Wales, Representative of the British and Foreign School Society, 1853-1863 , National Library of Wales journal. 1974, Winter. Volume XVIII/4
- Davies, Wynford Aspects of change in secondary education in Pembrokeshire 1880-1930 Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society vol 1 1985 Welsh Journals Online
- Jones, E D. The Journal of William Roberts ('Nefydd'), 1853-62. National Library of Wales journal Vol VIII/2 Winter, 1953 et al.
- Marsdon, W W. An Anglo-Welsh Teaching Dynasty; the Adams family from the 18402 to the 1930s 1997
- Banner, David & B.M. Richards Everyone for Tennis A history of tennis in Pembrokeshire 1986
- Bosworth, Nikki. Aspects of Ill-Health in Pembrokeshire. Dyfed FHS journal vol 9/1, Dec 2005. These extracts are selected from documents at the Pembrokeshire Record Office
- Brennan, T et al. Social Change in South-West Wales. (First half of C20th). 1954, p200.
- Curtis, Tony. The Poetry of Pembrokeshire
- Davies, Fred. Extracts from Fenton's "Pembrokeshire" about the Sea Sergeants Society. Dyfed FHS Vol 6/6 April 1999.
- Davies, J C. The Folklore of West and Mid Wales. 1911
- Davies, T G. Of all the maladies: Episodes in the history of Psychiatry in C19 Pembrokeshire (NLW's site) Pemb Historian V
- Howell, David W. Patriarchs & Parasites: The Gentry of South-West Wales in the 18th Century. 1986 (Cardiff: University of Wales Press) ix + 310pp. inc. appendixes, bibliography, notes and index. 2 maps - 1 foldout. the area covered is Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. an examination of the fortunes and character of the ruling class but much else besides.
- Howells, B E. The Elizabethan squirearchy in Pembrokeshire (NLW's site ) Pemb Historian Vol I
- Jenkins, John. Many a Bright Day A Pembrokeshire Childhood
- John, Mary. Friends in Need: Friendly Societies in Pembrokeshire. (NLW's site) Pemb Historian XIV
- Jones, David J V. Crime and Policing in the Twentieth Century (The South Wales Experience). UWP
- G Penrhyn Jones, Cholera in Wales. National Library of Wales journal Vol X/3 Summer 1958.
- Lewis , D . Pobl Wrth Eu Gwaith/People at Work. Llandysul 1987. Here is an index by Jill Smith
- Lloyd, H A. The Gentry of South-West Wales 1540-1640. Cardiff, 1968
- Peate, Iorwerth C. The Welsh House. A Study in Folk Culture First published in 1940, reprinted by Llanerch Publishers, Felinfach in 2000. ISBN 1 86143 112 0. Here is a review and a listing of Contents, Illustrations, Figures and houses/sites mentioned, from the 1940 edition.
- Philpin, A M. Women and Crime in 19th Century Pembrokeshire. 1991
- Richards, W L. The County Hospital Story
- Scourfield , Elfyn. Welsh Rural Life in Photographs. Barry, 1979. Here is an index by Jill Smith
- Thomas, J H Pioneers of Public Health: Dr Timothy Richard Lewis, MB, CM, FRS(elect) The Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society, No.6, 1994/5 Welsh Journals Online
- Turvey, Roger. Pembrokeshire and the ''pestilencie mortalis' (NLW's site) Pemb Historian XIII
- Vaughan, H M. The South Wales Squires. London, 1926
- Walters, G. The eighteenth century 'Pembroke Society' (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 3
[Gareth Hicks: 28 Oct 2013]