Pembrokeshire
Contents
MILFORD HAVEN [ABERDAUGLEDDAU]
"MILFORD, a newly created borough, sea-port, and market town, in the parish of
STEYNTON, hundred of RHÔS, county of PEMBROKE, SOUTH WALES, 6 miles (N.W.) from Pembroke, 8 (S.S.W.) from Haverfordwest, and 256 (W.) from London: the population is returned with the parish. This town, which is celebrated for the spacious and commodious haven to which it gives name, is said to have derived its appellation from a stream which turned a mill anciently belonging to a priory, about a mile from the present town, and over which there was a ford, prior to the erection of a bridge at this place. It was in the famous haven of Milford that Henry II. embarked with the troops which he had assembled for the conquest of Ireland; and here also he landed, on his return from that expedition. In the reign of Henry IV., an army of twelve thousand men, which had been sent from France to the assistance of Owain Glyndwr, in his insurrection against the authority of that monarch, landed at this place, from which they marched to the siege of Haverfordwest, and afterwards to that of Carmarthen. . ." [From
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1833).]
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Pembrokeshire Record Office has collected the records of numerous businesses
in Pembrokeshire. These include ........ Western Telegraph and West Wales
Guardian newspapers, Milford Haven Ice Company Limited, and Milford Haven
Dock and Railway Company, and smaller firms: ..........; Charles Hole, Grocer;
James Vaughan, Milford Haven; Mrs F. W. Stephens, Milford Haven, ladies
tailor; ............. Milford Haven Fish Trades Protection
Association Limited; ........... ; Empire Cinema, Milford Haven; ...........;
Milford Haven Shipbuilding and Engineering Company Limited, Pembroke Dock;
........... Cecil H. Foster, Milford Haven, furnisher; ............
Milford Haven Dry Dock Company Limited; Milford Haven Fishmeal Company
Limited; Milford Haven Trawler Owners Association Limited; Lord Nelson Garage
(W. Thomas and Sons), Milford Haven; Great Grimsby Coal, Salt and Tanning
Company Limited, Milford Haven; R. and J. H. Rea Limited, Milford Haven,
towage; John Francis, ironmonger and furnisher, Milford Haven;.........................."
- Price and Kelway, solicitors, Milford Haven records 1713-1965
"Price and Kelway is a firm of solicitors in Milford
Haven, Pembrokeshire. Major G. T. Kelway was involved in the Territorial
Army Association, Pembrokeshire Branch. The firm accumulated records relating to
its clients interests, including .................... James Henry Jones, of Milford
Haven, garage proprietor, and Minnie Gwendoline Johnson (b. 1904) of
Hubberston Fort, Milford Haven"
- R. T. P. Williams, solicitors, of Bridge Street, Haverfordwest Archives
Including "
............ Milford Haven Trawler Owners and Fishermen's
Association Ltd 1917-1930;................... ; Milford Haven District Nursing Association, 1930-1948; ..............."
- R. T. P. Williams and Sons, Milford Haven office,
records and client papers "RTP Williams, office papers,
include .......... client files of Eaton Evans and Williams of Milford
Haven, relating to Milford fishing industry, conveyancing, wills and estate
settlement, 1922-1950;............. Milford Haven Fish Trades Protection
Association Ltd, 1912-1917;..............; deeds of Milford Haven property,
1856-1961; ................ maps and plans including parliamentary plans
of the proposed Milford Junction Railway and Admiralty charts of Milford
Haven, 1850-1962; and general and miscellaneous papers comprising of Acts
of Parliament and associated papers, such as Acts for the Improvement Act
District of Milford Have..........and the Milford Railway and Estate Co.
Ltd....................; James Vaughan of Milford, 1876-1907; Milford Docks
Company, 1863-1919; Milford Haven Estate, 1790-1967; ................and
Starbuck family of Milford Brewery, 1803-1923......"
The 1851 census has been indexed by Dyfed Family History Society.
Census Returns have the following LDS Call Numbers:
- 1841 Census - 0464345
- 1851 Census - 0104235
- 1861 Census - 0543243
- 1871 Census - 0850855
- 1881 Census - 1342304
- 1891 Census - 6099643/4
MILFORD HAVEN, St. Catherine 1866-1868 - on the Church plans online siteParish entry from
The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by Archive CD Books).
- St Catherine
- &
- St Peter
- Incumbent and Curates; E J Howells (C H Rowe)
- Rural Deanery of Roose
- Acreage --- ; Population 6,087
Dickman, H.J.
"Within these walls": the story of Hill Mountain and Llangwm Wesley Methodist Churches in the Haverfordwest and Milford Haven Circuit, Haverfordwest, J.W. Hammond (1981) 51 p.
The parish registers start in the year 1808, when the church was consecrated, though the parish was formally separated from Steynton only in 1891.
Parish registers; Christenings (1808-33, 1860-1960), Marriages (1891-1975) Banns (1921-75), Burials (1877-1955) at Pem.RO
For Bishops' Transcripts and Nonconformist Chapels, see Steynton.
Held at Pem Archives;
- Milford Haven United Reform Church, Baptisms (1796-1915), Marriages (1840-1845, 1954-92), and other papers 1855-1974
See under Steynton parish for details of nonconformist chapels in Milford Haven
Dyfed FHS have published a series of indexes of baptisms, marriages and burials from Pembrokeshire hundreds for various periods.
Woollard, Freda.
Nonconformist Records- Milford Haven. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/3 April 1995. Some extracts from the register of the Tabernacle[URC] chapel , Charles St, Milford Haven.
The area within the Milford Haven Waterway and around the Pembrokeshire Islands has been selected as an European Special Area of Conservation, because of the important marine wildlife found in the rocky reefs, the Haven and its estuaries, and its grey seal population. See Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority
Edwards, Jean.
Milford Haven : a guide to historical places. [Milford Haven Tourism and Leisure Initiative?], 1994. 15p
John, Brian .
Milford Haven Waterway .[Haverfordwest] : Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, 1981. 32p
Milford Haven town, illustrated official guide. Gloucester : British Publishing Co., [1978] 64 p
Milford Haven : official town guide. Haverfordwest : Bruce Harvatt Associates with Milford Haven Tourism and Leisure Initiative, 1994. 48p
Warburton, Jack.
Milford Haven in old picture postcards. Netherlands : European Library, 1985. [79]p
Directories
Pigot & Co. South Wales Directory for 1830. Here are Extracts for Milford Haven
Pigot & Co. South Wales Directory for 1844. Here are Extracts for Milford Haven and Neighbourhood
Genealogy
Held at the NLW ;
- Records of the family of Havard of Newport and Milford, co Pembroke, 1760-1914, including records of ship-building and shipping
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Starbuck family of Nantucket Island and Milford Haven records [c. 1660]-1954
"Estate and personal papers relating to the Starbuck family of Nantucket Island
in Massachusetts, USA, and of Milford Haven in
Pembrokeshire. The papers relate to the colonial history of Nantucket Island,
[c. 1660]-1791, and to Milford haven 1800-1822, and to the Quaker communities of both places, [c.
1749]-[c. 1810], ................."
Jones, Francis.
Gelliswick and its Families. Arch. Cambrensis. 1980.
Thorne, Roland G. Thomas Philipps of Milford: Emigrant Extraordinary.
National Library of Wales journal. 1977, Summer Volume XX/1
Landing Craft Gun (Large) Numbers 15 & 16, Milford Haven Cemetery - on
the
Roll of Honour site
Milford Haven RAF Plaque (War Memorial) - on the
Roll of Honour site
Milfordf Haven Thornton Cemetery Memorial - on the Roll
of Honour site
Brett, Alfred.
Milford Haven : its importance as a mail steam packet station for Panama and other oceanic services London : Edward Stanford, 1859. 12p
Cennick, John.
The hidden treasure. Being the substance of a discourse delivered at Philbatch on the Milford-Haven ... 1753. Edition 5th ed. London : H. Trapp, 1791. pp. 16
Coad, J.G.
The Royal Dockyards, 1690-1850, Aldershot, Scolar (1989) 399 p.
Edwards, Sybil.
The Story of the Milford Haven Waterway - The Good Times and The Bad Times. 2001.
Fowler, John Coke.
An essay on the advantages of Milford Haven as a commercial port of national importance : for which the first prize was awarded at the National Eisteddfod held at Carmarthen, 1867 Carmarthen : Published at the 'Welshman' office, 1868. 62 p
Gilpin, M.C. Population Changes Round the Shores of Milford Haven from 1800 to the Present Day.
Field Studies Vol 1 No 2, pp. 23-36. 1960
Linnard, William. Guest of the Royal Navy : a crossing to Milford Haven in 1784.
Maritime Wales = Cymru a'r Môr 10 (1986), p. 69-75
McKay, K D.
A Vision of Greatness - The History of Milford 1790-1990 .
McKay, Ken/Springer,George.
Milford Haven: waterway & town. Images of Wales series, Tempus, 1999. Here is an index by Mary Bryceland
Pepler, Jonathan. . Milford Haven shipping, 1881.
Maritime Wales = Cymru a'r Môr 9 (1985), p. 122-33
Rees, J.F.
The Story of Milford, Cardiff, University of Wales Press (1954) 149 p.
Thomas, Flora.
Builders of Milford. Printed by The Western Telegraph, Haverfordwest, no date but information supplied by a third party suggests originally at least pre 1920. Mainly about Greville & the Quaker settlers of Milford Haven.
The book is mentioned at the bottom of the Pembrokeshire
Archives page on the Starbuck family of Nantucket Island and Milford
Haven
Williams, John.
A prize essay on the superior advantages of Milford Haven as a commercial harbour of national importance. Cardiff : Wood's Steam Printing and Lithographic Works, 1879. 45 p
Woollard, Freda.
Belgian Refugees in Milford Haven, 1914-1919 and 1939-1945. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/9 April 1997.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- British Records Association Collection Include "
......... papers relating to the development of Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire, 1790-1921; records relating to the affairs of the
Milford Haven Dock & Railway Company, the
Milford Dock Company, the Milford Haven Railway
& Estate Company Ltd............"
- Hamilton and Greville families, collection "Letters and receipts, 1581-1805, relating to the Pembrokeshire estates of Sir
William Hamilton and plans and correspondence relating to improvement schemes by
Charles Francis Greville at Milford Haven,
1794-1813."
- A. G. Cook, Solicitor, of Milford Haven, Papers "Records of A. G. Cook, Solicitor, 1862-1927, including deeds and related papers
of property in Llanstadwell, 1870-1924; deeds relating to premises in Dyffryn,
Llanwnda, 1907-1920; and deeds relating to 41 Edward Street, Milford Haven,
1922-1927."
- Eaves Solicitors, Milford Haven records "Records of Eaves Solicitors relating to property in Pembrokeshire, mainly Milford
Haven,1890-1990"
- Ministry of Defence records of Milford Haven
land purchases 1863
- Thomas, Sir Hugh James Protheroe, papers Include "Milford
Estate records, 1802-1964......."
- Milford Haven estate records 1708-1964 "Milford
Haven, Pembrokeshire was a new town,
built following an Act of Parliament of 1790 which granted to Sir William
Hamilton the powers to make quays, establish markets, make docks, roads and
avenues. Sir William made his nephew, Charles Greville, responsible for the
enterprise, and, after Sir William's death, the estate passed to Charles, who
died in 1809. ...................."
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
The People's Collection Wales site has material for this parish, use the onsite search box
Milford Steam Trawlers - Barry Johnson's site
Milford Haven Port Authority
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Angle Lifeboat Station, records 1868-1992 (mainly 1868-1913) "Records relating to Angle Lifeboat Station and to
Colonel Mirehouse, 1868-1992, including minutes and cash books of the Milford
Branch of RNLI, 1868-1901; RNLI, Angle Branch
cash book, 1902-1910; ..............................."
- Milford Docks Company Records and Correspondence 1803-1972
"Milford Docks Company was incorporated by Act of Parliament in 1874....................
In 1876,
the Port Sanitary Authority (now known as the Milford Haven Port Authority) was created. The docks was opened in 1888 and in
1898, ..........................."
- Shipping registers for Cardigan and Pembrokeshire 1824-1992 "The Registrar General of Shipping and Seamen was established by the Merchant
Shipping Act 1872, when the Registrar General of Seamen took over
responsibility for returns relating to the registration of ships from the Board
of Customs' Chief Registrar of Shipping. In Pembrokeshire, the Registrar General
of Shipping and Seamen recorded merchant ships registered at the port of
Cardigan and at the port of Milford Haven......"
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- British Railways Board Records Centre Records Include
" ........... Milford Haven Dock and Railway Company
(established 1837); ........"
Best in the west : spotlight on Milford Haven.
Coastguard (October 1991), p. 17-22
Public Records
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Milford Haven Urban District Council Records
1852-1987
- Milford Port Health Authority records 1874-1996 "Port Sanitary Authorities were introduced in 1872 as an alternative to
quarantine in British ports in order to prevent the importation of infectious
diseases........."
- Parliamentary Plans "Parliamentary plans, Pembrokeshire, 1844-1896, including plans relating to oil
refineries, Milford Haven 1878-1896; South Wales
Railway plans, 1844-1857; Milford Junction Railway plans, 1851-1855............."
The Development of Secondary
Education in Milford Haven 1902 - 1964 (Word 97 doc 436kb). Author:
Barry Johnson, presented in partial fulfilment of the requirements for the degree
of M.Ed.UCW (1st August 1974) (See also Appendix 1 Graph on separate 287kb .gif file)
Held at Pem.RO
- Milford Haven National School logbook 1914-1927
Jones, Barbara.
Milford Haven Grammar School 1896-1988 Milford Haven School, 1989. 168p
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Records of the 1st Milford Haven Girl Guide
Company 1919-1970
[Gareth Hicks: 2 Feb 2013]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.