GENUKI Home page up Pembroke ContentsContents

 

PEMBROKE: ST MARY

Parish based
sketch map
of the
hundred

"The livings of all the three parishes of St. Mary, St. Michael, and St. Nicholas, are consolidated into one discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at 9, (viz., 4 for St. Michael's, and 5 for that of Monkton, or St. Nicholas, St. Mary's not being in charge,) and in the gift of Sir John Owen, Bart. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, is an ancient and venerable structure, in the Norman style of architecture, situated near the centre of the town, and composed of a nave, chancel, and north aisle, with a small chapel on the southern side: in the north aisle and in the chancel are doorways, now closed up, which formerly communicated with additional buildings no longer standing. . . Each of these churches had anciently chapels of ease, situated a little distance without the walls of the town; and on the summit of an eminence, about three-quarters of a mile to the south of the town, still stands an ancient ecclesiastical edifice, dedicated to St. Daniel, with a lofty spire rising from a low tower, now private property. The chapel within the dock-yard is not consecrated, and is in the patronage of the Lords Commissioners of the Admiralty. There are places of worship for Baptists and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists. A grammar school was founded here, in 1690; but its endowment does not exceed 10 per annum. A National school for the united parishes (including therefore the village of Monkton), in which two hundred children of both sexes receive gratuitous instruction, is supported by subscription: the school is held in a house in the town, hired for the purpose, which is also appropriated to the use of a savings-bank . . ." [From A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1833).]

Census

The 1851 census for this parish has been indexed by Dyfed Family History Society.

Census Returns for this parish have the following LDS Call Numbers:

Church History

PEMBROKE DOCK, St. John the Evangelist     1844-1866  - on the Church plans online site

PEMBROKE, Mission Church, Penmar   1879   - on the Church plans online site

PEMBROKE, St. Mary   1877-1884    - on the Church plans online site

Monkton Rectorial Benefice

PENNAR, St. Patrick   1891-1896   - on the Church plans online site

Pembroke Dock, St Daniel's Mortuary Church            See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph                  On Dyfed FHS

Pembroke Dock, Garrison Chapel             See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph         
 "This was built in 1830-1, but became disused and ruinous. It has been restored, and is owned by the County Council. There are plans to turn it into a heritage centre." Geograph.org.uk

Some church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,   Cardiff, 1976. The names are those of the informants

 

Parish entry for St Mary from The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by Archive CD Books).

Parish entry for Pembroke Dock and Nash with Upton from The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by Archive CD Books).

 

Hughes, Basil. Jottings on the History of South Pembrokeshire - St Daniel's Church  (Pembroke) ISBN 1 898687 01 3 A history of the church and those associated with it

Williams, A. H. (Albert Hughes). John Wesley's preferment to St. Daniel's Church, near Pembroke. Proceedings of the Wesley Historical Society 48 (1992), p. 155

Church Records

Parish registers: Christenings (1711-1961), Marriages (1711-1915), Burials (1711-1950) at NLW

Marriages Banns (1924-68) at Pem.RO

Mf Copies Christenings (1711-1961), Marriages (1711-1915), Burials (1711-1950) at Pem.RO

Copy ts PR M pre 1813 with index at NLW and Pem.RO

Bishops' Transcripts, covering the period (1799-1807, 1809-88) are at the National Library of Wales, and have been microfilmed by the LDS - Call Number: 0105196.

Owen Vaughan has indexed the following entries from Pembroke, St Mary parish registers
Baptism 1711 - 1961, Mrge 1711 - 2006, Burial 1711 - 1950           Contact him via the Pembrokeshire Lookup Exchange

See Bap/Mar/Bur data on  FreeReg

Nonconformist Chapels:

 

Hughes, Basil. Baptisms at St Patrick's Church Pennar Pembroke Dock 1895 to 1934 . ISBN 1 898687 11 0 This is a complete list in alphabetical order of all baptised at St Patrick's  Church Pennar Pembroke Dock from the foundation of the Church till 1934. It  includes parents names.

Pembroke Dock, St John [formed out of St Mary in 1844]
Parish registers: Christenings (1844-1927) Garrison (1856-1906) Dockyard (1875-1926) Pennar (1895-1967), Marriages (1848-1951, 1965-76) Banns (1848-1971), Burials (1844-1977) Garrison (1861-1922) at Pem.RO
BTs: (1844-86) at NLW

Dyfed FHS have published a series of indexes of baptisms, marriages and burials from Pembrokeshire hundreds for various periods.

Court Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Description and Travel

Places, villages, farms etc within Pembroke St Mary parish  as shown on the online parish map from the CD of  Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.).  (Extracted by Barry Johnson)

 

Carradice, Phil. Pembroke Dock in old picture postcards .Netherlands : European Library, 1987.175p

Cripps, Brian. Pembroke and Pembroke Dock : postcards of yesteryear .Llandysul : Gomer, 1996.116p

Mason, ?. Guide to Pembroke Dock. 1914

Directories

Pigot & Co. South Wales Directory for 1844. Here are Extracts for Pembroke, Pembroke Dock (or Pater) and Neighbourhoods

Genealogy

Griffiths, Bill. The Allen families of Pembroke Dock. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 6/2 Dec 1997. "..some interesting Allen families that populated the dockyard town of Pater or Pembroke Dock, founded in 1814..."

Harries, Phillip   Edgar Phillips Harries, CBE (better known as 'EP'): some aspects of his life    The Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society, No.4 1990/91     Welsh Journals Online

May, Rosemary. Lt Col Samuel Ferrior of Pennar - killed at Waterloo 18 June 1815. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 8/1, Dec 2002.

Newbury, Paul. ISITT of Pembroke Dock. Dyfed FHS journal,1996/7 An account of two generations of the Isitt family, from 1800 to 1902, and their connections with the Royal Naval Dockyard.

Rose, Richard. Pembroke People. Otterquill Books, London, 1/2001.(ISBN 0-9535542-0-1) .A detailed account of every person who lived and worked in Pembroke and Pembroke Dock between 1800 and 1830.

History

There are historical snippets about this parish on Not everyone knows this..

Pembroke Dock Community site.  Includes Pembroke Dock history and heritage pages

A history of Pembroke Dock, in this parish, is given in the transcription of the Lewis extract for Pembroke.

 

Carradice, Phil. The book of Pembroke Dock : the story of a town created to build ships .Birmingham : Barracuda, 1991.124p

Carradice, Phil. The ill-fated ships of Pembroke Dock. Picture Postcard Monthly 147 (1991), p. 42-3

Gilson, Paul. The Admiralty extension at Pembroke Dock : the Pembroke and Tenby railway extension and its relations with the Admiralty . Welsh Railway Archive 1 (1994), p. 286-91

Hughes, Basil. Jottings on the History of Pennar, Pembroke Dock . ISBN 1 898687 04 8 . Among many names associated with Pennar it includes all those victims of the  Cholera epidemic

Hughes, Basil   Jottings on the History of Pembroke Dock, Pater and Pennar [Kindle Edition 2013]

Peters, [E E] Stuart Mrs. The History of Pembroke Dock. London,1905.173p.

Phillips, Lawrence. An interesting frigate from Pembroke Dockyard : H.M.S. Constance of 1846 . Mariner's Mirror 73 (1987), p. 61-9

Phillips, Lawrence. Captain Sir Thomas Sabine Pasley, Bt.,R.N., and Pembroke Dockyard, 1849-1854. Mineralogical Magazine 71/2 (1985), p. 159-65

Tiffany, M N E.    Paterchurch: a mystery solved  (NLW's site)   Pemb Historian V

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Merchant Marine

The People's Collection Wales site has material for this parish, use the onsite search box

Occupations

Pembroke-Dock Mechanics' Institute. Rules and catalogue of books of the Pembroke-Dock Mechanics' Institute : established July, 1850. Pembroke-Dock : Printed by William G. Phillips, 1864. 80p

Social Life and Customs

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top of page

[Gareth Hicks: 2 Jan 2014]

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.