"UPTON, a parish in the hundred of NARBERTH (but Rawlins says Castlemartin hundred), county of PEMBROKE, SOUTH WALES, 3 1/2 miles (N.E.) from Pembroke, containing 6 inhabitants. This parish, which is exceedingly small, and inhabited only by one gentleman's family, who is proprietor of the whole, occupies an elevated site above a creek of Milford Haven. It was formerly distinguished for its ancient castle which, if not originally built, was anciently occupied, by the family of Maliphant, from whom it passed by marriage to that of Bowen. The castle and its dependencies were subsequently purchased by Mr. Tasker, who devised his estates among his three nieces, one of whom, by marriage, conveyed the castle and a portion of this property to the Rev. William Evans, who is now the owner of the parish. The remains of the ancient castle have been incorporated in the buildings of the present mansion: they consist principally of the entrance gateway, and the two circular bastions by which it was defended; one of these now forms a projecting window in one of the apartments. The present seat occupies a charming situation, and commands beautiful and picturesque views of the surrounding country, and of the ruins of Carew castle, washed at their base by the converging aestuaries which unite to form this branch of the haven. The living is annexed to the rectory of Nash, in the archdeaconry and diocese of St. David's. The church is a small and very ancient edifice, supposed to have been built at the same time as the castle, to which it was formerly attached: it contains some ancient monuments, among which is one having a recumbent effigy of a warrior in complete armour, under a richly sculptured canopy of stone: a clenched hand, issuing from the wall, forms a candelabrum for a taper, for the maintenance of which some fund has been probably left by the deceased or his relatives. There are also several mural monuments to the more recent proprietors of the estate. The average annual expenditure for the relief of the poor, during the few years preceding 1829, amounted to £18. 10." [From A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1833).]
The 1851 census for this parish has been indexed by Dyfed Family History Society.
Census Returns for this parish have the following LDS Call Numbers:
Some church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names are those of the informants
Parish entry for Pembroke Dock and Nash with Upton from The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by Archive CD Books).
See Nash parish for PR
See Nash parish for Bishop's Transcripts.
Nonconformist Chapels: None found
Dyfed FHS have published a series of indexes of baptisms, marriages and burials from Pembrokeshire hundreds for various periods.
Places, villages, farms etc within Upton parish as shown on the online parish map from the CD of Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by Barry Johnson)
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
Hughes, Basil Jottings on the History of Pembrokeshire Cosheston, Upton, Nash [Kindle Edition 2013]
[Gareth Hicks: 24 Aug 2013]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Copyright © GENUKI and Contributors 1996