GENUKI Logo   Wales Wales   Contents Contents   Towns and Parishes Index Radnorshire Towns
& Parishes

RADNORSHIRE

"The County of RADNOR is 90 Miles in Circumference, contains about 310000 Acres, divided into 6 Hundreds in which are 4 Market Towns & only one Radnor ye County Town privileged with sending 1 member to Parliament like ye rest of ye Welsh Boroughs, 52 Parishes & about 3158 Houses. The Air is sharp, the Soil barren & mountainous, abounding in Woods, Rivers & Moors, intermixed with some fruitfull Valleys. Its cheif Commodities are Cheese & Horses." [Emanuel Bowen, Britannia Depicta, 1720]

 

INFORMATION RELATED TO ALL OF RADNORSHIRE

Radnorshire

Click here for 1833 Map

 

 

 

 

Archives and Libraries

Powys Archives
Provide a series of  Local Studies Notes with Sources for Family History and a  Guide to Holdings

Libraries and Museums in Powys list on the Powys Archives site

Hereford Archive Services holds Hereford diocesan and parish records (bishops' transcripts, probate and tithe records and parish registers) for various parishes on the Radnorshire/Herefordshire border.

The National Library of Wales. Aberystwyth. The major repository of information relevant to Welsh genealogy, such as Bishop's Transcripts of Parish Registers, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, Nonconformist Records, Probate Records, Tithe Maps and Apportionment Schedules, Legal and Administrative Records, Estate Records and Personal Papers, Pedigree Books, Newspapers, etc.

Llandrindod Wells Library
Cefnllys Lane, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, LD1 5LD
Telephone: +44 (0) 1597 826870. The library hold copies of most Radnorshire Census Returns 1841 to 1901.

Powys Museum Service

The National Archives has details of many archive repositories in the UK with links to their web sites, if any.

The Royal Commission on the Ancient & Historical Monuments of Wales (RCAHMW)
Apart from their online Archive Catalogue there is the Chapels database which will eventually list all known nonconformist chapels in Wales.

Bibliography

A Radnorshire Bibliography - Books of General Interest for Family Historians

Local Books List at Powys Archives

Cemeteries

MIs held at Powys Archives - Radnorshire

Graveyard Welsh - a guide to interpreting Memorial Inscriptions.

Census

Llandrindod Wells Library have copies of 1841 - 1901 census returns for all of Radnorshire, as have Powys Archives

The UK BMD web site offers links to over 400 web sites that provide on-line information for UK births, marriages and deaths and censuses.

Church History

Welsh Chapels & Churches

You may also find it worthwhile searching in the GENUKI church database.

Radnorshire Churches Survey on the Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust site

Radnorshire Church Plans online

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire Parish Registers

See here for a breakdown of Radnorshire hundreds into parishes

Map of Radnorshire Parishes on Powys Archives

National Library of Wales Manuscripts and Records. An online searchable index of Marriage Bonds and Allegations.It contains details of some 90,000 marriages by licence which took place in Wales between 1616 and 1837.

Listings of (present-day) Clerics, Benefices, and parishes  of the Diocese of Swansea and Brecon.
Also the Diocese of Hereford

Family Search UK/Ireland - Historical Record Collections 
IGI Batch Numbers - Hugh Wallis's site  and Archer Software's site  

Civil Registration

Brett Langston has provided details of the Registration Districts in Radnorshire for the period 1837 to 1930.

The UK BMD web site offers links to over 400 web sites that provide on-line information for UK births, marriages and deaths and censuses.

Court Records

The Act of 1543 established the courts of Great Sessions in Wales, equivalent to the English Assizes, which continued until 1830 when they were abolished. Records for the Great Sessions are held at the National Library of Wales.

Powys Archives hold records pertaining to Radnorshire Quarter Sessions which were established by the same Act although records do not begin until the late seventeenth century. See also their Petty Sessions listing

Return to top of page

Description and Travel

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

A Vision of Britain Through Time. "This site contains information about your home area from the 2001 census -- and from every earlier British census back to 1801. It can present this information both as maps of the whole country and as graphs showing change over time in your area. It truly offers a Vision of Britain through time"

Gazetteer of Markets and Fairs in England and Wales to 1516. The Gazetteer compiled by Dr Samantha Letters is a catalogue of markets and fairs in medieval England and Wales. This is the first comprehensive national survey.

Powys tourism site

Mid-Wales Online

Powys County Council

Radnorshire - on wikipedia

Directories

Here is a listing of trade directories held at Powys Archives

Gazetteers

Search the GENUKI Gazetteer.

The section of The National Gazetteer (1868) relating to Radnorshire - transcribed by Colin Hinson.

Tallis's Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales, published in 1860 in six vols, editor E. L. Blanchard.  
See Welsh Family History Archive for all the excellent county maps (showing the hundreds) and the alphabetical gazetteer 
From the preface;
"In the following pages will be found fully described the past history and present aspect of every place of any significance in England and Wales, forming a work of permanent importance to the commercial world, of ready service to the tourist of the day, and of constant interest to the general reader, who may derive from this source a large supply of entertainment, as well as of information for the amusement and instruction of a leisure hour."

Genealogy

Online Welsh Names Directory by Graham Jaunay

Welsh Surname List - an all Wales surnames list provided by John Ball on his Welsh Family History Archive site.

John Ball's Welsh Family History Archive provides some very useful material and links for those with Welsh ancestry.

Timeline of genealogically interesting datesby Gareth Hicks

Here are details of the Genealogy Mailing Lists serving the Welsh counties

WorldGenWeb Project - Radnorshire

History

Powys Digital History Project

Castle Wales site - the Kingdom of Powys

Prehistoric Funerary and Ritual Monuments in Radnorshire - on the Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust site

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Map of Radnorshire in 1833  - Copied from the original in "A Topographical Dictionary of Wales" by Samuel Lewis 1833

Radnorshire Old Maps

Welsh county maps by Samuel Lewis and published in 1833

Details of various maps available at Powys Archives

Newspapers

Local newspapers in Powys - listing at Powys Archives

Occupations

Victorian Professional Photographers in Wales 1850-1925 - a county based database compiled by Mari Alderman, includes sources and a bibliography

Powys - A Day in the Life - Water Corn Mills in Radnorshire

Radnorshire's Metalliferous Mining Industry in 1896 - on the Peak District Mines Historical Society's site

Periodicals

Chronicl Powys (broken link) is the Powys Family History Society journal, here is an index of nos 1-30

See under Societies

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

The Workhouse  - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Schools

The Blue Books of 1847.   An inquiry into the state of education in Wales - on the NLW's Digital Mirror site

Day Schools in Radnorshire in 1847. This database consists of day schools which existed in 1847 included here within an alphabetical list of parishes 
It contains the names and types of day schools listed in the Reports of the Commissioners of Inquiry into the State of Education in Wales published in 1847

Social Life and Customs

A Day in the Life site - Welcome to Powys in 1891

People's Collection Wales - Radnorshire Constabulary (use onsite search box)

Societies

Powys Family History Society

The Radnorshire Society - publishes an annual volume of Transactions which contains scholarly articles on local history topics, book reviews, and society notes. It was first published in 1931 and continues. On Welsh Journals Online

 

INDIVIDUAL TOWNS AND PARISHES   -   See Alphabetical Listing

Return to top of page


This county is maintained by Gareth Hicks with help and information provided by a number of other volunteers.

[Last updated:   4 April 2014  - Gareth Hicks .]

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.