We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Betws Diserth

"BETTWS-DISSERTH, a parish in the hundred of Colwyn, in the county of Radnor, South Wales, 7 miles to the W. of New Radnor, its post town. It lies near the head of the river Edwy. The living is a curacy, consolidated with that of Disserth, in the diocese of St. David's. The church is dedicated to St. Mary. There are several small endowments for the benefit of the poor." (The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)


  • St Mary, -, Bettws Disserth, Church in Wales


  • St Mary, -, Bettws Disserth, Church in Wales

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Betws Diserth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church of St Mary, Bettws Disserth on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Bettws-Diserth Parochial Chapelry; Statistics; Area 1885 acres; Population 76 males, 64 females, total 140

  • Bettws Parochial Chapelry      Attendance - (average) afternoon 62              Tho. Thomas, Rector

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1731-1980; Marriages 1731-1752, 1755-1839, 1964; Burials 1731-1958; Banns 1824-1956
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Betws Diserth which are provided by:


The transcription of the section for Betws Diserthf rom the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Betws Diserth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Data on Archives Network Wales;

  • Papers of the Sheen family, 1827-1973, including deeds relating to land in the parish of Betws Diserth, 1827-1872, wills, 1874-1940....
    "The Sheen family lived in Waterloo, Betws Diserth, Radnorshire, during the late 19th and the early 20th centuries. John and Mary Sheen of Cwmmawr had three children, John Jones, Thomas Wozencroft (d.1898) and Hannah Maria. ...........................".


Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO116569 (Lat/Lon: 52.203180, -3.294993), Betws Diserth which are provided by:

Military History

Llansanffraed in Elwell with Bettws Disserth War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site