GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

BETWS DISERTH

"BETTWS-DISSERTH, a parish in the hundred of Colwyn, in the county of Radnor, South Wales, 7 miles to the W. of New Radnor, its post town. It lies near the head of the river Edwy. The living is a curacy, consolidated with that of Disserth, in the diocese of St. David's. The church is dedicated to St. Mary. There are several small endowments for the benefit of the poor." (The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)

Church History

Church of St Mary, Bettws Disserth on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Bettws-Diserth Parochial Chapelry; Statistics; Area 1885 acres; Population 76 males, 64 females, total 140

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for Betws Diserthf rom the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.

History

Llansanffraed in Elwell with Bettws Disserth War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Land and Property

Data on Archives Network Wales;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

 

Return to top

Betws Diserth


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 13 Nov 2013  - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI