GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

CASGOB / CASCOB

"CASCOB, a parish partly within the liberties of the borough of NEW RADNOR, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, and partly in a detached portion of the hundred of WIGMORE, county of HEREFORD, 5 miles (W.N.W.) from Presteign. The population is partly returned with the hamlet of Litton, and High and St. David's-street wards, in the parish of Presteign, and that part of the parish which is not so returned contains 121 inhabitants.This parish, in Domesday-book called Coscope, contains three thousand two hundred and fifty acres of land, of which about eleven hundred and fifty are enclosed and in a state of cultivation. .............. A small stream, called Cascob brook, rises in the parish, in two different sources, one in the, western part, and the other on the south-west side, the two branches uniting at a distance of about a mile from their respective springs, and forming first the boundary between the parishes of Cascob and Old Radnor, and subsequently that between the townships of Cascob and Litton with Cascob, and finally joining the river Lug. ..............The township, of Cascob consists of the manors of Ackwood and Cwmygerwyn,,..........."    ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Church History

CASCOB, St. Michael  1877-1879 - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Michael and All Angels, Casgob on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Cascob Parish; Statistics; Area 2548 acres; Population 83 males, 72 females, total 155

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Occupations

Harvesting potatoes on Foesidoes farm, Casgob, Presteigne  9 Oct 1953 - on the People's Collection Wales site

 

Return to top

Casgob / Cascob


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 13 Nov 2013  - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI