GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

CEFN-LLYS

"KEVENLLEECE (CEVN-LLYS), a parish and contributory borough, in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, on the road from Newtown to Builth, 1 1/2 mile (S. W. by S.) from Pen y bont, containing 367 inhabitants. This place, the name of which signifies the "palace ridge," or "hill," is of considerable antiquity, and consists of the borough and the out-parish. A castle of considerable extent and great strength was erected here, about the year 1242, by Ralph Mortimer, which is sometimes called " Castell Glyn Ithon," ................. Lead-ore and coal are supposed to exist within its limits, ................ Kevenlleece is a borough by prescription, and probably owes that distinction to the existence of its ancient castle : the corporation consists of a bailiff, recorder, and burgesses, chosen at the court-leet of the lord of the manor,............ The borough includes within its limits.................about one-fifth of the parish, extending about two miles from east to west, and half a mile from north to south................ The living is a rectory, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at 8. 19. 4 1/2., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, ,..........."    ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Breeze, Andrew. Cefnllys and the Hereford map.              Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 69 1999    Welsh Journals Online

Brown, A E          The Castle, Borough and Park of Cefnllys                  Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 42  1972      Welsh Journals Online

Cefn Llys; Castell Glan Ithon            Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 15  1945     Welsh Journals Online

Cefnllys Castle             Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 9 1939     Welsh Journals Online

Extracts form the parish vestry books and poor law accounts of Cefnllys, Llandrindod Wells. Cronicl Powys, No. 41 (August 1997), 34-39.

Haycock, Marged           Lewis Glyn Cothi and Radnorshire         Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 64 1994    Welsh Journals Online

Jones, Parry. Jonathan Jones of Cefnllys. Cronicl Powys. No. 52 (Apr. 2001), p. 21-23

Oliver, R C B       A letter written from Parish at the commencement of the late revolution               Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 59 1989    Welsh Journals Online

Sandford, C H     Cefn-y-llys            Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 16  1946     Welsh Journals Online

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census fugures for Cefnllys 1841-1901

Church History

Church of St Michael, Cefnllys on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Powys - A Day in the Life  - Romance in an old church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Cefnllys Parish; Statistics; Area 4135 acres; Population 200 males, 186 females, total 386

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Cefnllys Castle on the Castle Wales site

Cefnllys Castle, Pen-y-bont 1998 on the People's Collection Wales site

Gazetteers

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Schools

Victorian Powys for schools site - Llandrindod and Cefnllys school  c 1895

 

Return to top

Cefn-llys


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 13 Nov 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.