We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Cregrina (Craig Furuna)

"CAREGRINA, or CREGRINA (CRUGYNAU), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 6 1/2 miles (E.) from Builth, containing 119 inhabitants. This place is situated upon the banks of the river Edw, or Edwy, which falls into the Wye at Aberedw. The living is a discharged rectory, with the perpetual curacy of Llanbadarn y garreg annexed, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £ 9. 6. 8., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. David, ......."    ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Newbury, Robert. St. David's Church, Cregrina, Radnorshire : some notes on the history of the church and parish. 22p

Stratton, J A   The 1720 terriers of Cregrina and Llanfihangel nantmelan            Radnorshire Society Transactions   vol 48 1978          Welsh Journals Online

Cemeteries

  • St David, -, Cregrina, Church in Wales

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cregrina (Craig Furuna) area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church of St David, Cregrina on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Interior of Cregrina church - on flickr

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Cregrina Parish; Statistics; Area 1595 acres; Population 56 males, 53 females, total 109

  • Cregrina Parish Church     Attendance - afternoon 53 + 15 scholars      1 service in English    Tho. Thomas, Rector

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1685-1729, 1754-1989; Marriages 1685-1729, 1754-1836, 1841-1971; Burials 1685-1729, 1754-1991; Banns 1824-1990
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cregrina (Craig Furuna) which are provided by:

Aerial photograph of Penarth Mount, Cregrina in 1999 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cregrina (Craig Furuna) has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO124522 (Lat/Lon: 52.161062, -3.282074), Cregrina (Craig Furuna) which are provided by:

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

 

Return to top

Cregrina (Craig Furuna)