GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

CREGRINA (CRAIG FURUNA)

"CAREGRINA, or CREGRINA (CRUGYNAU), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 6 1/2 miles (E.) from Builth, containing 119 inhabitants. This place is situated upon the banks of the river Edw, or Edwy, which falls into the Wye at Aberedw. The living is a discharged rectory, with the perpetual curacy of Llanbadarn y garreg annexed, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at 9. 6. 8., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. David, ......."    ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Newbury, Robert. St. David's Church, Cregrina, Radnorshire : some notes on the history of the church and parish. 22p

Stratton, J A   The 1720 terriers of Cregrina and Llanfihangel nantmelan            Radnorshire Society Transactions   vol 48 1978          Welsh Journals Online

Church History

Church of St David, Cregrina on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Interior of Cregrina church - on flickr

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Cregrina Parish; Statistics; Area 1595 acres; Population 56 males, 53 females, total 109

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Aerial photograph of Penarth Mount, Cregrina in 1999 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Gazetteers

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

 

Return to top

Cregrina (Craig Furuna)


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 13 Nov 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI