Hide
Diserth
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"DISSERTH (DISERTH), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (N.) from Builth, comprising the townships of Disserth and Tre'r Coed, each of which separately supports its own poor, and containing 610 inhabitants. ................. A place called Llechryd, situated within its limits, has generally been considered the scene of the celebrated victory, gained by Rhos ab Tewdwr, the rightful prince of South Wales,........ over the usurping princes of Powys, the three sons of Bleddyn ab Cynvyn; but this event may, with greater probability, be referred to Llechryd near Cardigan, on the banks of the river Teivy......... ...........The Carneddau hills afford good pasturage to numerous flocks of sheep, of which the wool is of very superior quality and highly esteemed. Fairs were annually held, on Hawey common, on the Saturdays before the 11th of February, the 11th of May, and the 11th of November, chiefly for the sale of live stock, but they have fallen into disuse. The living is a rectory, with the perpetual curacy of Bettws-Disserth annexed, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £ 16, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Cewydd,........." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Hide
Davies, D Stedman Rev. Disserth Parish Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 8 1938 Welsh Journals OnlineDisserth parish (nr Llandrindod Wells) & Notes taken from the two vestry books of Disserth Church Radnorshire Society Transactions vol. 15 1945 Welsh Journals Online
Extracts from the parish vestry books and poor law accounts of Disserth. Cronicl Powys, No. 40 (April 1997), 36-38
Fenn, Roy W D. Diserth parish church. Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 71 2001 Welsh Journals Online
Howse, William H. Disserth, Radnorshire : its church and its history and folk-lore. Llandrindod Wells : Sayce Brothers, 1952. 23p
Jones, Ruth M. The account books of Stephen Joseph, Disserth. Cronicl Powys. No. 46 (1999), p. 22-24
Notes on the paintings in Disserth Church, Radnorshire Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 24 1954 Welsh Journals Online
Powell, A Dymoke Powell Family, Disserth Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 7 1937 Welsh Journals Online
Stratton, John. Brecon Archdeaconry Court, 12.9.1775 : dispute concerning seats in Disserth Church. Cronicl Powys. No. 31 (1994), p. 22-23
Stratton, J A & R W D Fenn Providence Baptist Chapel, Howey Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 54 1984 Welsh Journals Online
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Disserth Parish consisting of Disserth and the hamlet of Trecoed; Statistics; Area 6650 acres; Population 280 males, 284 females, total 564
|
Church of St Cewydd, Disserth on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
'Diserth Church' by Moses Griffith, c. 1770-1800 (watercolour) on the People's Collection Wales site
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Church of St Cewydd
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Caebach section (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (July 2009)
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1734-1991; Marriages 1734-1839; Burials 1734-1915; Banns 1789-1816, 1823-86
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, SOG and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Cwm-bach Llechrhyd ecclesiastical parish formed out of Diserth parish in 1886-7, extant records are;
- Baptisms 1886-1997; Marriages 1888-1997; Burials 1887-1992 (NLW and/or Powys Archives)
- The transcription of the section for Diserth from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Diserth to another place.
Cwmbach Llechryd War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site
Howey (Disserth) War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site
Data on Archives Network Wales;
- Dr John Griffiths Collection of Diserth and Llanfechain Deeds - Deeds and other documents, 1630-1886, relating mainly to the Powell family of Maesgwyn and to the parishes of Diserth, Llansanffraid-yn-Elfael, Llandegla and Glasgwm, Radnorshire, 1630-1886; and to properties of the Jones family of Bryncynfelyn in the parish of Llanfechain, 1651-1782.
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO047560 (Lat/Lon: 52.194157, -3.395247), Diserth which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Cwmbach Lechryd Parish Records 1877-1962 "Cwmbach Lechrhyd was created as a consolidated chapelry, out of the parishes of Diserth and Llanelwedd, in 1887."
- Disserth and Trecoed Parish and Community Council Records 1838-1999