We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanbadarn Fynydd

" LLANBADARN-VYNYDD (LLAN-BADARN-VYNYDD), a parish in the hundred of KNIGHTON, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 10 miles (S.) from Newtown, containing 518 inhabitants. ......................An excellent and commodious inn has been recently erected in the village, ..................The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with £ 600 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Prebendary of Llanbister in the Collegiate Church of Brecknock,................... The church, dedicated to St. Padarn, or Paternus, ...................... .........................There is a well called Fynnon Ddewi, or " David's Well," the water of which is slightly impregnated with sulphur, ....................... The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £ 244. 12............."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Lawrence, Brian          Llaithdu, David's Well and New Well               Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 62 1992    Welsh Journals Online

Oliver, R C B       Church building and rebuilding in Radnorshire in the later nineteenth century with special reference to the parish church of Llanbadarn- Fynydd       Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 48 1978          Welsh Journals Online

Parish of Llanbadarn Fynydd, Radnorshire : Padarn's Benefit [Friendly] Society minute book 1846-1883. Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 40p

Price, Marilyn.     Have you seen your solicitor? : [deeds of Lower Lletherlinwent Farm, Llanbadarn Fynydd ]. Cronicl Powys. No. 26 (1992), p. 37-47

Cemeteries

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanbadarn Fynydd area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

LLANBADARN FYNYDD, St. Padarn  1841-1842  -o n the Church plans online site  

Church of St Padarn, Llanbadarn Fynydd on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanbadarn Fynydd Parish; Statistics; Area 8965 acres; Population 280 males, 255 females, total 535

  • Llanbadarn-Fynydd Parish Church       Attendance - afternoon 85      "A Sunday School is kept in the church during summer and autumn, there being no schoolhouse in the parish. Scholars 47"   John Rees Lewis, Perpetual Curate

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1678-1709, 1721-1997; Marriages 1678-1709, 1721-1971; Burials 1678-1709, 1721-1958; Banns 1831-1939
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanbadarn Fynydd which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanbadarn Fynydd has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Pen Ithon estate, records  1858-1903    "George Augustus Haig was High Sheriff of Radnorshire in 1864 and was active in Conservative politics in the county. In 1858, he purchased the Pen Ithon estate, Llanbadarn Fynydd, Radnorshire, which included Pencwm Farm and Dairy, Ddulley Bank, and Esgair-draen-llwyn farms"

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO097781 (Lat/Lon: 52.393417, -3.328478), Llanbadarn Fynydd which are provided by:

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

 

Return to top

Llanbadarn Fynydd