GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANBADARN FYNYDD

" LLANBADARN-VYNYDD (LLAN-BADARN-VYNYDD), a parish in the hundred of KNIGHTON, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 10 miles (S.) from Newtown, containing 518 inhabitants. ......................An excellent and commodious inn has been recently erected in the village, ..................The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with 600 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Prebendary of Llanbister in the Collegiate Church of Brecknock,................... The church, dedicated to St. Padarn, or Paternus, ...................... .........................There is a well called Fynnon Ddewi, or " David's Well," the water of which is slightly impregnated with sulphur, ....................... The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is 244. 12............."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Lawrence, Brian          Llaithdu, David's Well and New Well               Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 62 1992    Welsh Journals Online

Oliver, R C B       Church building and rebuilding in Radnorshire in the later nineteenth century with special reference to the parish church of Llanbadarn- Fynydd       Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 48 1978          Welsh Journals Online

Parish of Llanbadarn Fynydd, Radnorshire : Padarn's Benefit [Friendly] Society minute book 1846-1883. Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 40p

Price, Marilyn.     Have you seen your solicitor? : [deeds of Lower Lletherlinwent Farm, Llanbadarn Fynydd ]. Cronicl Powys. No. 26 (1992), p. 37-47

Church History

LLANBADARN FYNYDD, St. Padarn  1841-1842  -o n the Church plans online site  

Church of St Padarn, Llanbadarn Fynydd on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanbadarn Fynydd Parish; Statistics; Area 8965 acres; Population 280 males, 255 females, total 535

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

 

Return to top

Llanbadarn Fynydd


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 15 Nov 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.