We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanbadarn-y-garreg / Llanbadarn Garreg

" LLANBADARN Y GARREG (LLAN-BADARN-Y-GAREG), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 6 miles (E. S. E.) from Builth, containing 98 inhabitants. This parish comprises only about three hundred acres of enclosed land, and is situated on the small river Edwy,............The living is annexed to the rectory of Caregrina, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Padarn,................There is a place of worship for Welsh Calvinistic Methodists. A rent-charge of of £12, on a farm called Llanola, in this parish, was bequeathed by a Mrs. Gwynne of that place, ................. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £59.6.............."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)


  • St Padarn, -, Llanbadarn-y-garreg, Church in Wales


  • St Padarn, -, Llanbadarn-y-garreg, Church in Wales

  • Salem Chapel, Llanbadarn-y-garreg, Independent / Congregational

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanbadarn-y-garreg / Llanbadarn Garreg area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church of St Padarn, Llanbadarn-y-garreg on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for St Padarn's  Church

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Llanbadarn-y-gareg chapel (in Welsh) - with translation

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanbadarn-y-Garreg Parochial Chapelry; Statistics; Area 900 acres; Population 30 males, 28 females, total 58

  • Llanbadarn-y-Garreg Church of Ancient Chapelry       Attendance - morning 27              1 service in English            Thomas Williams, Churchwarden
  • Salem, Llanbadarnygarreg, Independent     Erected 1826     Attendance - afternoon 29 + 12 scholars      David Williams, Minister, Aberedw

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1732-1992; Marriages 1750-5, 1779, 1783-1812, 1814-1834, 1839-1971; Burials 1750-1812, 1814-1991
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW 

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanbadarn-y-garreg / Llanbadarn Garreg which are provided by:


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanbadarn-y-garreg / Llanbadarn Garreg has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county


Return to top

Llanbadarn-y-garreg / Llanbadarn Garreg

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO112487 (Lat/Lon: 52.129411, -3.298697), Llanbadarn-y-garreg / Llanbadarn Garreg which are provided by: