GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANBADARN-Y-GARREG / LLANBADARN GARREG

" LLANBADARN Y GARREG (LLAN-BADARN-Y-GAREG), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 6 miles (E. S. E.) from Builth, containing 98 inhabitants. This parish comprises only about three hundred acres of enclosed land, and is situated on the small river Edwy,............The living is annexed to the rectory of Caregrina, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Padarn,................There is a place of worship for Welsh Calvinistic Methodists. A rent-charge of of 12, on a farm called Llanola, in this parish, was bequeathed by a Mrs. Gwynne of that place, ................. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is 59.6.............."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Church History

Church of St Padarn, Llanbadarn-y-garreg on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for St Padarn's  Church

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Llanbadarn-y-gareg chapel (in Welsh) - with translation

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanbadarn-y-Garreg Parochial Chapelry; Statistics; Area 900 acres; Population 30 males, 28 females, total 58

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

 

Return to top

Llanbadarn-y-garreg / Llanbadarn Garreg


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 15 Nov 2013  - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI