Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
Llanbedr Castell-Paen / Llanbedr Painscastle
"LLANBEDR - PAINSCASTLE (LLAN-BEDR-PAIN'S-CASTLE), a parish in the hundred of PAINSCASTLE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 6 1/2 miles (N. W. by W.) from Hay, containing 356 inhabitants. This parish derives the distinguishing adjunct to its name from a fortress called Pain's Castle, anciently situated within its limits, .............................A village was also built by De Paine ..............................Of this strong fortress there are now no remains, except the moat which surrounded the site ; and the town of Painscastle,.........has dwindled into an insignificant village. The parish, comprising about four thousand acres,..................... Fairs for horses, sheep, and horned cattle, are held annually on May 12th, September 22nd, and December 15th, in the township of Painscastle,...........: the petty sessions for the hundred are occasionally held here. This parish, with that of Boughrood, constitutes the prebend of Llanbedr-Painscastle, or Boughrood, in the collegiate church of Brecknock, rated in the king's books at only 13s. 4d., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with £ 600 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Prebendary :.............. The church, dedicated to St. Peter,.....................here is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists. The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor is £ 258.............." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
- St Peter, Llanbedr Painscastle, Church in Wales
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Painscastle Lanbedr Adullam Baptist Chapel
Church of St Peter, Llanbedr Painscastle on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Hermon/Painscastle section (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Llanbedr-Painscastle Parish; Statistics; Area 3877 acres; Population 176 males, 146 females, total 322
- Llanbedr Painscastle Parish Church Attendance - (average) morning 14, afternoon 24 (alternate?) 1 service in English John Lloyd, Officiating Minister
- Addullum Chapel, Baptist Erected 1848 Attendance - (average) morning 110 + 37 scholars Edward Owens, Minister
- Painscastle Chapel, Primitive Methodist Erected 1828 Attendance - (average) mornings 25 Thomas Jones, Local Preacher, Pencwm
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1726-1981; Marriages 1726-1971; Burials 1726-1980; Banns 1836-1980
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
You can see pictures of Llanbedr Castell-Paen / Llanbedr Painscastle which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Llanbedr Castell-Paen / Llanbedr Painscastle has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO144463 (Lat/Lon: 52.108344, -3.251356), Llanbedr Castell-Paen / Llanbedr Painscastle which are provided by:
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Painscastle District Highway Board Records "Minutes of Painscastle Highway Board, 1892-1894"
- Painscastle Rural District Council Records 1895-1974
Return to top
Llanbedr Castell-Paen / Llanbedr Painscastle