We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanbister

"LLANBISTER, a parish in the hundred of KNIGHTON, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 12 miles (W.) from Knighton, containing 1508 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the river Ithon, and extends nearly fifteen miles in length, with an average breadth of two miles. ...................The turnpike road from Builth in Brecknockshire to Newtown, in the county of Montgomery, passes through the parish. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £ 6. 11. 5 1/2., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Kynlog, ................ There is a place of worship for Welsh Calvinistic Methodists. A Sunday school, which is supported by subscription, is held occasionally ..............................The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £495. 5. .........."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Davies, Haydn. The Pound Chapel : Llanbister, Radnorshire 1896-1996 : centenary commemoration. Llanbister : Hephzibah Pound Baptist Chapel, 1996. 50p

Howse, W H          An old account book            Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 23  1953      Welsh Journals Online

Moseley, A J         Parish of Llanbister               Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 3 1933           Welsh Journals Online

Moseley, A J & T P Davies              Place names in the parish of Llanbister              Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 3 1933           Welsh Journals Online

Cemeteries

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanbister area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

LLANBISTER, St. Cynllo   1908-1909    -o n the Church plans online site

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Cynllo's Church

Church of St Cynllo, Llanbister on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanbister Parish; Statistics; Area 14837 acres; Population 575 males, 509 females, total 1084

  • Llanbister Parish Church    Attendance - (average) general congregation 50/100 upwards, scholars 40/60      1 service in English      Remarks "Baptisms 145; Marriages 53; Burials 128. The above numbers are true copies of the Registers of Baptisms, Marriages and burials extracted the 31st March 1851 and contain all the insertions for the last 10 years."    Evan Powell, Vicar
  •  
  • Cwmllechwedd Chapel, Primitive Methodist          Erected 1831                Attendance - (average) afternoon 45      James Meredith, Steward

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1705-1964; Marriages 1705-1971; Burials 1705-1994; Banns 1854-1901
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  and /or SOG  

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanbister which are provided by:

Aerial photograph of Llanbister 2001 - on the People's Collection Wales site 

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanbister has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Salt & Sons, Solicitors of Shrewsbury: Radnorshire   1869   "Sales particulars for The Linwent, Llanbister, 1869"  
  • Phillips & Co. [Ludlow] records     "Records collected by Phillips & Co., solicitors, 1438-1937, including deeds and associated papers relating to land in the parishes of .......... Llanbister, 1607-1687.........."  
  • Llanbister, Llanyre and Llanddewi Ystradenni deeds   " Deeds and records, 1618-1758, relating to land in the parishes of Llanbister, 1692-1734; Llanyre, 1618-1758; Llanddewi Ystradenni, 1713-1758"  
  • Green and Nixson, solicitors' Records   1578-1984   "Arranged into the following: Probate and personal papers; ..................... Y Ty Mawr, Llanbister, deeds; Vron charity documents; Llanddewi Ystradenni, Llanbister, Llangynllo and Knighton deeds; Llanbister deeds; Warren House, Llanbister, deeds; Owens family of Llanbister deeds; Miscellaneous; Deeds relating to Maes-yr-hardy, Llanbister; Thomas Clee of Knucklas papers"

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO109732 (Lat/Lon: 52.349573, -3.309545), Llanbister which are provided by:

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llanbister Parish and Community Council Records 1885-1993

Schools

Powys - A Day in the Life - Llanbister Cantal School

Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanbister Cantal School

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Cantal Board School, Llanbister, photographs  "Group photographs of pupils at Cantal School, [ c. 1860], [early 20th century]; exercise books of Abraham Hamer, 1859, 1861"

 

Llanbister