GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANBISTER

"LLANBISTER, a parish in the hundred of KNIGHTON, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 12 miles (W.) from Knighton, containing 1508 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the river Ithon, and extends nearly fifteen miles in length, with an average breadth of two miles. ...................The turnpike road from Builth in Brecknockshire to Newtown, in the county of Montgomery, passes through the parish. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at 6. 11. 5 1/2., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Kynlog, ................ There is a place of worship for Welsh Calvinistic Methodists. A Sunday school, which is supported by subscription, is held occasionally ..............................The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is 495. 5. .........."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Davies, Haydn. The Pound Chapel : Llanbister, Radnorshire 1896-1996 : centenary commemoration. Llanbister : Hephzibah Pound Baptist Chapel, 1996. 50p

Howse, W H          An old account book            Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 23  1953      Welsh Journals Online

Moseley, A J         Parish of Llanbister               Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 3 1933           Welsh Journals Online

Moseley, A J & T P Davies              Place names in the parish of Llanbister              Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 3 1933           Welsh Journals Online

Church History

LLANBISTER, St. Cynllo   1908-1909    -o n the Church plans online site

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Cynllo's Church

Church of St Cynllo, Llanbister on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanbister Parish; Statistics; Area 14837 acres; Population 575 males, 509 females, total 1084

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Aerial photograph of Llanbister 2001 - on the People's Collection Wales site 

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Schools

Powys - A Day in the Life - Llanbister Cantal School

Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanbister Cantal School

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Llanbister


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 16 Nov 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI