GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANDDEWI FACH

"LLANDDEWI-VACH (LLAN-DDEWI-VACH), a parish in the hundred of PAINSCASTLE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 5 1/2 miles (N. W. by W.) from Hay, containing 136 inhabitants. This parish, ................ is skirted on the north and west by the small river Bachwy, by which it is separated from the adjacent parish of Llanbedr-Painscastle. The living is a perpetual curacy, annexed to the vicarage of Llowes, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's : the tithes are appropriated to the archdeacon of Brecknock, who is patron of the united benefice. The church, dedicated to St. David, ............... A Sunday school is supported by subscription. The average annual expenditure for the support of the Poor is 101.2. .........."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Church History

Church of St David, Llanddewi Fach on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llandewyfach Parish; Statistics; Area 2297 acres; Population 60 males, 69 females, total 129

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

 

Return to top

Llanddewi Fach


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 16 Nov 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.