We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanddewi Ystradenni

"LLANDEWI - YSTRADENNY (LLAN-DDEWI-YSTRADENAU), a parish partly in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, and partly in that of KNIGHTON, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (N.) from Pen y Bont, containing 653 inhabitants. This parish ........... is situated on the river Ithon, and intersected by the turnpike road leading from Builth, in Brecknockshire, to Newtown, in the county of Montgomery.................The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with £600 royal bounty, and £200 parliamentary grant, and in the patronage of the Prebendary of Llanbister in the Collegiate Church of Brecknock..............The church, dedicated to St. David, has been lately rebuilt ....................The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor amounts to £316. 9 .........."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)


Bidgood, Ruth      Families of Llanddewi Hall, Radnorshire     Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 44  1974   Welsh Journals Online     & Part II   vol. 45  1975   Welsh Journals Online  &  vol. 46  1976   Welsh Journals Online &  vol. 47  1977    Welsh Journals Online   &  vol 48 1978          Welsh Journals Online   &  vol 49 1979          Welsh Journals Online &   vol 50 1980          Welsh Journals Online

Brooksby, H                  Llanddewi Hall          Radnorshire Society Transactions   vol 50 1980          Welsh Journals Online

Price, Douglas M. Llanddewi Ystradenni 1705-2000. [Brecon?] : Llanddewi Millennium Committee, 2000. 140p



Census population figures for the parish - on the Victorian Powys site


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanddewi Ystradenni area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Llanddewi Ystradenni St David's Church

Church of St David, Llanddewi Ystradenni on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llandewy-Ystradenny Parish consisting of part of Llanfihangel-Rhydithon Township, Mystyrrhoesllowdy Township and Church Township; Statistics; Area 8075 acres; Population 362 males, 324 females, total 692

  • There are no returns for this parish

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1732-1751, 1758-1946; Marriages 1732-1751, 1754-1971; Burials 1732-1751, 1758-1981; Banns 1826-1957
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanddewi Ystradenni which are provided by:


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanddewi Ystradenni has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llanbister, Llanyre and Llanddewi Ystradenni deeds   " Deeds and records, 1618-1758, relating to land in the parishes of Llanbister, 1692-1734; Llanyre, 1618-1758; Llanddewi Ystradenni, 1713-1758"  


Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llanddewi Ystradenni in 1839, and 1902


Llanddewi Ystradenni

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO108686 (Lat/Lon: 52.308212, -3.309790), Llanddewi Ystradenni which are provided by: