We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llandeglau / Llandegley

"LLANDEGLAY (LLAN-DEGLA), a parish, partly within the liberties of the borough of NEW RADNOR, and partly in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 1 1/2 mile (E. S. E.) from Pen y Bont, containing 355 inhabitants. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Tecla, is intersected by the turnpike road from Hereford, through Knighton, New Radnor, and Rhaiadr, to Aberystwith, ...............This place constitutes a prebend in the collegiate church of Brecknock, rated in the king's books at £5, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £3. 5. 5., endowed with £200 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. ................ There is a place of worship for the Society of Friends. A parochial day school, endowed by an unknown benefactor.......................The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor is £ 195. 10. .........."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Pritchard, T J Llewelyn. The Llandrindod guide, including the wells of Llandegley and Blaenedwy... Newport : E. Nicholas, pr., [1825] 271p

Sharpe, Richard. Some medieval miracula from Llandegley (Lambeth Palace Library, MS. 94 fols. 153v-155v). Bulletin of the Board of Celtic Studies 37 (1990), p. 166-76

Cemeteries

  • St Tecla, -, Llandegley, Church in Wales

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llandegley parish 1841-1901

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llandeglau / Llandegley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church of St Tecla, Llandegley on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Swydd, Graig and Tynlan Township in Llandegley Parish; Statistics; Area 3729 acres; Population 169 males, 170 females, total 339

  • Llandegley Parish Church            Attendance - (average) afternoon 40            1 service in English              John Jones, Vicar
  •  
  • The Pales, Meeting House of the Society of Friends                Erected 1745, re-erected 1828            Attendance - morning 16                  Thomas Rogers

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1727-1914; Marriages 1727-1971; Burials 1727-1990
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Society of Friends Papers   " .............. The Pales Meeting House in Llandegley is the oldest meeting house in Wales. The first deed of 1673 gives Pales two meanings, a burial ground called round about and y Ty ar dir yn y Swydd (the house on the land at the Swydd)............."

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llandeglau / Llandegley which are provided by:

Llandegley Rocks from Esgair-nantau  -  on the Cistercian Way site

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llandeglau / Llandegley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • D. R. I. Williams Collection of Radnorshire Deeds    "Deeds and documents relating to the parish of Llandeglau, Radnorshire, 1585-1885"

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO139629 (Lat/Lon: 52.257474, -3.262875), Llandeglau / Llandegley which are provided by:

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Schools

Victorian Powys for schools site - Llandegley School c 1885

 

Llandeglau / Llandegley