We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llandeilo Graban

"LLANDEILO-GRABAN (LLAN-DEILO-GRABAN), a parish in the hundred of PAINSCASTLE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 6 miles (S. E. by S.) from Builth, containing 272 inhabitants. .................The parish is separated from that of Llanstephan by a stream called the Bachwy, ......................... The parish contains no village : it constitutes a prebend in the collegiate church of Brecknock, rated in the king's books at £ 9. 13. 4., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with £ 800 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Prebendary of Llandeilo-Graban. The church, dedicated to St. Teilo,................... There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists. ..............The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor amounts to £273..........."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Hall, Mike. The gun : Twyn y Garth, Llandeilo Graban. Cronicl Powys. No. 51 (2000), p. 39-42

Cemeteries

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llandeilo Graban area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

St Teilo's Church, Graban - on the Geograph.org site

Church of St Teilo, Llandeilo Graban on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llandilo-Graban Parish; Statistics; Area 3059 acres; Population 131 males, 129 females, total 260

  • Llandilo-Graban Parish Church      Attendance - afternoon 27        1 service in English         John Lloyd, Perpetual Curate
  •  
  • Moriah, Baptists        Erected  1834          Attendance - morning 150, evening 150                Ed. Owen, Appointed Minister, Painscastle

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1813-1992; Marriages 1813-1971; Burials 1813-1992
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llandeilo Graban which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llandeilo Graban has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Skreen and Velin Newydd estates, deeds   1361-1874 (predominantly 1513-1809)     "The Williams family owned Skreen in the parish of Llandeilo Graban, Radnorshire, from at least 1576. The family were still in possession of the estate in 1781....................... "

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO093446 (Lat/Lon: 52.092250, -3.325352), Llandeilo Graban which are provided by:

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

 

Llandeilo Graban