GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANDRINDOD

"LLANDRINDOD, a parish in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (S. by W.) from Penybont, containing 182 inhabitants. This place, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to the Holy Trinity, ............. The parish is bounded on the west by the river Ithon,...........The mineral waters to which this place owes its importance appear to have been used from time immemorial by the inhabitants of the immediate neighbourhood; but their efficacy was not generally known till about the close of the seventeenth century..............This parish constitutes a prebend in the collegiate church of Brecknock, rated in the king's books at 5. 8. 9., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with 600 royal bounty, and 200 parliamentary grant, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity...........The foundations of an ancient chapel were discovered in a corn-field a few years since : it was called " Capel Vaelon," but nothing is known of its history. .............The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor amounts to 83."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Archives and Libraries

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Bibliography

A guide to Llandrindod Wells and vicinity : with a map of the locality . Carnarvon : Rees and Evans, 1874.

A history of Llandrindod Church School 1846-1996 : 150 years of Christian education : compiled from the school log books. Llandrindod : The Parish of Llandrindod with Cefnllys & Disserth, 1996. 36p

A pictorial and descriptive guide to Llandrindod Wells, Llangammarch Wells, Llanwrtyd Wells, Builth Wells and Central Wales : with medical notes : plan of Llandrindod Wells, map of the district, and six sketch maps illustrating walks. London : Ward, Lock and Co., [1920?]. 128p

Alcock, Leslie            Castell Collen excavations, 1954 / 55              Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 24  1954      Welsh Journals Online  &  Vol 25 1955      Welsh Journals Online  

Alcock, Leslie           Excavations at Castell Collen            Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 25 1955          Welsh Journals Online  

Around Llandrindod Wells. Stroud : Chalford in association with Radnorshire Museum, 1995. 160p. The archive photographs series

Bottomley, H A. The history of Llandrindod Wells Golf Club, 1905-1939.    Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 62 1992    Welsh Journals Online

Bottomley, Rupert. Professional music in Llandrindod Wells 1891-1955.          Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 56  1986         Welsh Journals Online  

Britnell, William    Capel Maelog rediscovered      Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 56  1986         Welsh Journals Online  

Bufton, W J. Illustrated guide to Llandrindod Wells, its history, medicinal waters, and environs : to which is appended a treatise on the natural history of the neighbourhood ... London : F. Hodgson, 1906.

Davies, D Stedman             The rainfall at Llandrindod Wells           Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 2 1932           Welsh Journals Online

Davies, T P           Llandrindod Wells in the eighteenth century     Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 4 1934       Welsh Journals Online

Edwards, Frank. Some recollections of early Llandrindod Wells.    Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 62 1992    Welsh Journals Online

Edwards, Huw T. They went to Llandrindod : a challenge. Cardiff : Hughes and Son, [1951?] 43p

Gibson, G W      Llandrindod in the nineties         Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 15  1945     Welsh Journals Online

Grimes, W F            The Llandrindod Wells dug-out boat           Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 1 1931     Welsh Journals Online

Harries, Olivia. Llandrindod Wells in Old Postcards. Llandybie : Christopher Davies, c1985. 116p

Howse, William H. Old-time Llandrindod. Llandrindod Wells] : Radnorshire Society, [1952] 32p

Howse, W H    Llandrindod Wells in 1867             Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 19  1949     Welsh Journals Online

Howse, W H     Llandrindod Old Church           Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 33  1963   Welsh Journals Online

Hughes, Colin. The National School in Victorian Llandrindod. Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 67 1997    Welsh Journals Online

Hughes-Jones, Don. Victorian and Edwardian Llandrindod Wells. Llandrindod Wells : D. Hughes-Jones and C. Ehrenzeller, [1985] 40p

Jones, I E     The Swydd Neithion enclosutre and the development of Llandrindod        Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 43  1973   Welsh Journals Online

Jones, I E    Growth and change in Llandrindid Wells since 1868         Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 45  1975   Welsh Journals Online

Linden, Diederick W. A treatise on the three medicinal mineral waters at Llandrindod, in Radnorshire, South Wales : with some remarks on mineral and fossil mixtures, in their native veins and beds; at least as far as respects their influence on water. London : Printed by J. Everingham and T. Reynolds, for the author; and sold by W. Owen, 1756. 336p Llandrindod Wells official guide. Gloucester : British Publishing Co., [1978] 48p

Llandrindod Wells and environs . Llangollen : Darlington, [1903/4] 64p

Llandrindod Wells, Mid-Wales : the ideal modern spa and health and holiday resort ... : official guide. Llandrindod Wells : Llandrindod Wells Development Association, [18--?] 99p

Morgan, John V. The life and sayings of the late Kilsby Jones, Congregational Minister, Llandrindod. London : Swansea : Elliot Stock ; "Cambria Daily Leader" Office, 1896. 204p

Morgan, Prys          Thomas Jones of Pencerrig            Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 57  1987         Welsh Journals Online  

Morgan, W E T         Reminiscences of Llandrindod and neighbourhood             Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 7 1937     Welsh Journals Online

Newman, C W           The Pump House Hotel, Llandrindod Wells              Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 52  1982      Welsh Journals Online

Newman, C W    The tale of a boat              Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 70 2000    Welsh Journals Online

Oliver, Reginald C B. The centenary of the Church of the Holy Trinity, Llandrindod Wells, 1871-1971. Llandrindod Wells (The Leys, Montpellier Park, Llandrindod Wells, Radnorshire) : R. C. B. Oliver, 1971. 33p

Oliver, Reginald C B. A hundred years of Christ Church Congregational, Llandrindod Wells, 1871-1971 : preceded by an account of Caebach chapel from 1715. Llandrindod Wells : R. C. B. Oliver, [1971]. 20p

Oliver, Reginald C B. 100 years baptist witness in Llandrindod Wells : 1876-1976 : souvenir brochure. [Llandrindod Wells] [Tabernacle Baptist Church], 1976. 40p

Oliver, Reginald C B. Bridging a century : a century of growth in the story of Llandrindod Wells, Radnorshire. Llandrindod Wells] : [Hotel Metropole], [1972] 28p

Oliver, Reginald C B. Mr John Hope of Llandrindod Hall and Lincoln's Inn, London, 1691-1761. Transactions of the Radnorshire Society 59 (1989), p. 59-62 One hundred and twenty views of Llandrindod Wells and vicinity. E. & S., [190-?] 36p

Oliver, R C B     Llandrindod Wells Hospital; its beginnings and early years      Radnorshire Society Transactions   vol 51 1981          Welsh Journals Online

Oliver, R C B      Archdeacon de Winton and the building of the first rectory in Llandrindod Wells           Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 52  1982      Welsh Journals Online  

Oliver, R C B        The story of Pantpurlas; a farm in Llandrindod parish            Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 54  1984          Welsh Journals Online  

Oliver, R C B     Mr John Hope of Llandrindod Hall and Lincoln's Inn, London, 1691-1761        Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 59 1989    Welsh Journals Online

Osborne, Bruce. Llandrindod Wells : the historic spas of central Wales : tref y ffyhonnau. Tadworth : British Spas Federation, c1999. 173p

Parris, Patricia   An old iron gate at the Pump House, Llandrindod Wells           Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 52  1982      Welsh Journals Online  

Price, B M. Worcester House, Llandrindod Wells.              Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 69 1999    Welsh Journals Online

Sinclair, J B & R W D Fenn       The life and times of the late Mrs Esther Crummer of Howey Hall          Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 67 1997    Welsh Journals Online

Taking the waters at Llandrindod in 1860 with gout-stricken John Hughes. Country Quest 29/4 (1988), p. 18-19

The pump-house, Llandrndod Wels in 1859           Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 24  1954      Welsh Journals Online

Thomas, Griffith                  Old Llandrindod Parish Church Register, 1734-1812         Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 2 1932           Welsh Journals Online

Victorian architecture of Llandrindod Wells. Llandrindod Wells : Radnor District Council, 1984. 29p

Voices of Llandrindod Wells. [Rhayader] : [Red Dragon Press], 2000. 111p

Watkins, W                 Copies of old accounts from Mr Watkins, Nantywellan               Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 11  1941       Welsh Journals Online

Williams, Joel. The shops of Llandrindod Wells past & present. [Llandrindod Wells] : [Joel Williams], 1989. 70p

Business and Commerce Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Staff of Tom Norton Ltd, c 1910 - on the People's Collection Wales site      "Employees of Tom Norton Ltd, then Britain's biggest bicycle buyers according to the sign in the window. Tom Norton started his business in Llandrindod Wells in 1898......."

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llandrindod 1841-1901

Church History

LLANDRINDOD WELLS, Holy Trinity  1894-1896    - on the Church plans online site

LLANDRINDOD WELLS, Old Church  1910-1911  - on the Church plans online site

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Holy Trinity Church, Spa Rd, Llandrindod

Church of Holy Trinity, Llandrindod Wells on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llandrindod Parish; Statistics; Area 2689 acres; Population 110 males, 107 females, total 217

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Victorian Powys for schools site - Llandrindod and Central Radnorshire

Welcome to Llandrindod Wells

Llandrindod Wells Victorian Festival

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Gazetteers

History

Llandrindod Wells War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Victorian Powys for schools site - Maps of Llandrindod in 1833 & 1887

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Schools

Victorian Powys for schools site - Llandrindod National School

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Llandrindod


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[16 Nov 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI