We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanelwedd

"LLANELWETH (LLAN-ELWEDD), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, nearly 1 mile (N. E.) from Builth, containing 182 inhabitants. This parish is pleasantly situated on the river Wye, by which it is separated on the south and south-west from the parish of Builth, in the county of Brecknock, and is intersected by the turnpike road from that place to Newtown in Montgomeryshire, ............. This parish constitutes a prebend in the collegiate church of Brecknock, rated in the king's books at £ 6. 10., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The living is a perpetual curacy, in the arch-deaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with £ 800 royal bounty, and in the patronage of Edward David Thomas, Esq.,........... The church, dedicated to St. Matthew, ........... The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £ 83. 16 . .........."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Bidgood, Ruth.     Lawrence families of the Builth and Llanelwedd area in the 18th and 19th centuries. Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 59 1989    Welsh Journals Online

Davies, D Stedman           Extract from the diaries and account book of Thomas Jones, Pencerrig      Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 12  1942    Welsh Journals Online

Musson, Chris. Cwrt Llechrhyd, Llanelwedd : an unusual moated site in central Powys. Medieval Archaeology 32 (1988), p. 97-109

Oliver, R C B         Pencerrig; a house at the top of the rocks              Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 39  1969      Welsh Journals Online  

Oliver, R C B.    The Hartstonges and Radnorshire             Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 45  1975   Welsh Journals Online

Oliver, R C B (ed)          The Diary of Captain Frederick Jones         Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 53  1983      Welsh Journals Online   & vol. 60 1990    Welsh Journals Online & vol. 61 1991    Welsh Journals Online

Owen, DE      Notes on  antiquities in the Parish of Llanelwedd          Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 18 1948           Welsh Journals Online

Cemeteries

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanelwedd area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church of St Matthew, Llanelwedd on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanelwedd Parish; Statistics; Area 2020 acres; Population 91 males, 112 females, total 203

  • Llanelwedd Parish Church        Attendance - morning 49      1 service in English      Hugh Vaughan, Curate
  •  
  • Fforddlas Independents or Congregationalists    Erected   1834    A Farm House    Attendance - (average) evening 30 + 15 scholars   "Service held on a weekday once in the month"     Septimus Davies, Superintendant, Fforddlas, nr Builth

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1773-1981; Marriages 1796-1971; Burials 1773-1982
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanelwedd which are provided by:

Aerial photograph of the Royal Welsh Showground, Llanelwedd, 1995 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanelwedd has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

Llanelwedd St Matthews War Memorials - on the Roll of Honour site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • D. Edmondes Owen Papers      "Includes - Cuttings and other memorabilia relating to the ministry at Morriston and Llanelwedd, 1897-1910................. notes on the history of the parish of Llanelwedd; tithe rent-charges, [c. 1900]-1910; account book of the Builth Pageant, 1904-1905;............."

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO046517 (Lat/Lon: 52.155274, -3.395928), Llanelwedd which are provided by:

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Victorian Powys for schools - Map of Llanelwedd in 1840, and 1888

Schools

Powys - A Day in the Life - Llanwelwedd School

 

Llanelwedd