GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANFAREDD

"LLANVAREDD, or LLANVARETH (LLAN - VARETH), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 2 miles (E.) from Builth, containing 162 inhabitants. The name of this parish is derived from the situation of its church near a small rivulet called the Vareth, which flows into the river Wye at a short distance from its site. .............The turnpike road from Builth to New Radnor traverses the northern part of the parish. The living is annexed to the rectory of Aberedw, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, .............. The poor of this parish share equally with those of Aberedw and Llanbadarn y Garreg in a rent-charge of 12 . payable out of a farm called Llanola, ...........: the average annual expenditure for their support is 101. 4..........."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Tudor, C L R. Some notes historical & descriptive of the churches and parishes of Aberedw and Llanfaredd. Cardiff : Western Mail, 1917. 56p

Church History

Church of St Mary, Llanfaredd on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanvareth Parish; Statistics; Area 2245 acres; Population 73 males, 67 females, total; 140

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

History

Llanfaredd War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

 

Return to top

Llanfaredd


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 20 Nov 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI