Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
"LLANVIHANGEL HELYGEN (LLAN - VIHANGEL HELYGEN), a parish in the hundred of RHAIADR, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (E.) from Pen y bont, containing 101 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the river Ithon, along the banks of which, and those of the river Dulais, it extends for about five miles, and is nearly of equal breadth. The high road leading from Rhaiadr to New Radnor, and also to Kington in Herefordshire, by which the parish is intersected, passes within two miles of the church. ..................The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with £ 800 royal bounty, and with half of the tithes of the parish, and in the patronage of the Vicar of Nantmel. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, .............. A Sunday school is supported by subscription, for the gratuitous instruction of poor children; and a small day school in the village is partly supported by the same means. The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor is £21. 19..........." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Church of St Michael, Llanfihangel Helygen on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Llanfihangel-Helygen Parish; Statistics; Area 1459 acres; Population 51 males, 49 females, total 100
- Llanfihangel-Helygon Parish Church Attendance - afternoon 27 1 service in English Charles Davies Rees, Curate
- Fron and Deuaeth, Wesleyan Methodist Not a separate building Attendance - morning 30 "Only on Sunday morning we have preaching in Fron and Deuaeth, and the preaching is carried out in rotation; so that the two places are only equivalent to one. There is no Sunday school connected with these places" John Jones, Wesleyan Preacher, Llanidloes
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
A note in BT Llanllyr/Llanyre 1713 says that "there was no register ever kept at Llanvyangell it being no burial place but what there happens is inserted in the registers of Nantmell and Llanyre." ( Parish Registers of Wales, 2000)
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1732-1738 with gaps, 1781-99, 1806-1991; Marriages 1737, 1755-1796, 1805-10, 1814-1834, 1841-1971; Burials 1811, 1828-1990
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Llanfihangel Helygen which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Llanfihangel Helygen has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Llanfihangel Helygen St Michael War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO045643 (Lat/Lon: 52.268504, -3.400948), Llanfihangel Helygen which are provided by:
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanfihangel Helygen Parish Council minute book 1894-1974
- Llanfihangel Helygen Prish Records 1831-1859 "Certificate of publishing of banns; 2 requests to publish banns"