We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanfihangel Nant Melan

"LLANVIHANGEL-NANT-MELAN (LLAN - VI - HANGEL-NANT-MELAN), a parish in the liberties of the borough of NEW RADNOR, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 2 1/2 miles (W. S. W.) from New Radnor, containing 410 inhabitants, of which number, 284 are in the township of Llanvihangel-Nant-Melan. ..............The village, though small, is of more prepossessing appearance than many in this part of the principality, and is considerably enlivened by the traffic occasioned by the roads from Hereford to Aberystwith, and from Knighton and Presteign to Builth, in the county of Brecknock, which pass through the parish. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £4. 13. 4., endowed with £ 600 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the King, as Prince of Wales. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, ........... Lady Joan Hartshorne bequeathed a house and about twenty-five acres of land, for the support of a school for the gratuitous education of poor children of this parish, and also of the parishes of Old Radnor and Gladestry. .............The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor is £ 190. 8..........."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

  • Ferris, J P & R C B Oliver      A agricultural improvement of 1674 at Trewern, Llanfihangel Nant-Melan        Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 42  1972      Welsh Journals Online
  • Stratton, J A   The 1720 terriers of Cregrina and Llanfihangel nantmelan            Radnorshire Society Transactions   vol 48 1978          Welsh Journals Online

Cemeteries

  • St Michael, A44, Llanfihangel-nant-Melan, Church in Wales

Churches

  • St Michael, A44, Llanfihangel-nant-Melan, Church in Wales

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanfihangel Nant Melan area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church of St Michael, Llanfihangel Nant Melan on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanvihangel-Nantmellan Parish consisting of the Township of Trewern and Gwythla and part of Llanvihangel-Nantwellan Township with part of Llandegley Parish; Statistics; Area 8250 acres; Population 231 males, 206 females, total 437

  • Trewern and Gwythla Township
  • Llanfihangel Nantmellan Parish Church   Re-erected recently on the site of the Ancient Parish Church        Attendance - morning 35     1 service in English       "The Sunday School has been discontinued for some time back, and the weekly Charity School transferred to another parish.  There is however a Charity School at Weithel, Old Radnor, to which Children are admissable from this Parish.  The Church was rebuilt on the Ancient Site in the year 1847 and 8 with all the available materials of the Old Church - and consequently not deemed necessary to to be reconsecrated - a the Cost of £450; of which £150 was by 'Parochial Rate', and the residue by 'Private Subscription'. It is situated near the lower Extremity of the Township of Llanfihangel in a thinly populated Locality, with a large Tract of Hill Land lying between it and the upper Portion of the Township and a still larger between it and the Lower Division of the Parish, comprising the Township of Trewerne and part of Harpton which circumstance satisfactorily accounts for the smallness of the Congregation, as the Inhabitants usually attend the adjoining Churches of Llandegley, Gladestry, New or Old Radnor, all being much more convenient. At the extreme Western Boundary of the Parish abt. 3 miles from the Church, near Llandegley, a Dissenting Chapel has been erected, on Land given by the Inhabitants of Llandegley for the accommodation of the Inhabitants of that Parish and to which some of my Parishioners resident near the St. occasionally resort.  But beg to observe that all my Parishioners are Church-going People, excepting one Farmer and his Household, resident on the border of Glascombe"         Wm Prosser Williams, Vicar
  •  
  • Llanvihangel-Nantmellan Township
  • Corn Hill Chapel, Calvinistic Methodist        Erected 1843         Attendance - morning 60          Ebenezer Williams, Calvinistic Methodist Minister, Mission House, Penybont

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1700-1929; Marriages 1700-1809, 1813-1971; Burials 1700-1991; Banns 1823-1839, 1888-1975
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW   

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanfihangel Nant Melan which are provided by:

Aerial photograph of Bryn-y-Maen Stone Alignment, Llanfihangel Nant Melan, 1999 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Llanfihangel Nant Melan - on the Cistercian Way site

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanfihangel Nant Melan has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO180581 (Lat/Lon: 52.214957, -3.201655), Llanfihangel Nant Melan which are provided by:

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llanfihangel Nant Melan Parish Council Records  1909

Llanfihangel Nant Melan