GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANFIHANGEL RHYDIEITHON / LLANFIHANGEL RHYDITHON

"LLANVIHANGEL-RHYD-ITHON (LLAN-VIHANGEL RHYD ITHON), a parish in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 3 miles (E. N. E.) from Pen y Bont, containing 350 inhabitants. This parish derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Michael ; ............. According to the opinion of some antiquaries, ................. the name is more properly Llanvihangel Rhiw Teithon, from its situation on a road immediately above the church, which led into the forest of Radnor, and still bears the name Rhiw Teithon..............The road from Knighton to Pen y Bont passes through the parish, and at the latter place is a post - office,........... The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with 800 royal bounty, and 200 parliamentary grant, .................. The church, which is in a very dilapidated condition, is about to be taken down and rebuilt. ............small charitable donations and bequests, amounting only to 2. 10., is annually distributed among the poor. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is 158. 10.  .........."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Watkins, W        Llanfihangel Rhydithon seventy years ago            Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 4 1934       Welsh Journals Online  & Part II        Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 5 1935     Welsh Journals Online

  Watkins, W. J. H.   'Education in Llanfihangel Rhydithon and District'           Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 6 1936   Welsh Journals Online

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanfihangel Rhydithon parish 1841-1901

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Llanfihangel Rhydithon St Michael

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Dolau Baptist Chapel

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Michael's Church

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Tanhouse CM Chapel, Llanfihangel Rhydithon LLANFIHANGEL RHYDITHON, St. Michael   1837-1839   - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Michael, Llanfihangel Rhydithon on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanfihangel-Rhydithon Parish consisting of part of Llanfihangel-Rhydithon Township; Statistics; Area 3204 acres; Population 190 males, 163 females, total 353

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Schools

Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanfihangel Rhydithon School

 

Return to top

Llanfihangel Rhydieithon / Llanfihangel Rhydithon


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 20 Nov 2013  - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.