GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANSANFFRAID-YN-ELFAEL / LLANSAINTFFRAID-IN-ELWELL

"LLANSANTFRAID IN ELVEL (LLAN-SANTFRAID YN ELVAEL), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (N. E. by E.) from Builth, containing 343 inhabitants. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church, is pleasantly situated on the turnpike road from Builth, through New Radnor, to Kington in the county of Hereford, ......................... This parish constitutes a prebend in the collegiate church of Brecknock, valued in the king's books at 1. 6. 8., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at 5. 14. 9 1/2., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Fread, or St. Bride, ............. A Sunday school is supported under the superintendence of the vicar of the parish and a few of the principal inhabitants, for the gratuitous instruction of poor children. ............ There are but slight vestiges of Colwyn castle, erected here in 1242, by Ralph Mortimer,.................The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is 169.5.............."  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Church History

LLANSAINTFRAED-IN-ELVEL, St. Bridget   1894-1896   -o n the Church plans online site

Church of St Bridget, Llansantfraed-in-Elvel on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llansantfraed-in-Elvel Parish; Statistics; Area 4000 acres; Population 165 males, 158 females, total 323

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

History

Llansanffraed in Elwell with Bettws Disserth War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llansantffraid-in-Elfael in 1837, also 1902

 

Return to top

Llansanffraid-yn-Elfael / Llansaintffraid-in-Elwell


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 20 Nov 2013  - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI