Nearby places
LLANSANFFRAID CWMTEUDDWR
Bidgood, Ruth. Early families of Rhydoldog, Llansanffraid Cwmteuddwr.
Transactions of the Radnorshire Society 56 (1986), p. 35-51
See Welsh
Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Elan Valley, Bethania Baptist Chapel,
Elan Valley
LLANSANTFFRAID CWMDEUDDWR, St. Winifred 1861-1865 - on the Church plans online site
Church of St Winifred, Llansantffraed Cwmdeuddwr on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Cwmteuddwr Parish consisting of the Townships of Dyffryn-Gwy and Dyffryn-Elan; Statistics; Area 32000 acres;; Population 416 males, 419 females, total 835
- Dyffryn-Gwy Township
- Llan St Fread Erected 1782 Attendance - morning 80 1 service alternately in Welsh and English Informant, David Evans
-
- Dyffryn-Elan Township
- Nantgwillt Chapel of England Erected 1785 Attendance - afternoon 65 + 30 scholars (......chapel of ease, erected 1772, four miles from the mother church of Llansantfraid-Cwm-Toyddwr - Lewis 1848) 1 service in the chapel, alternately English and Welsh Informant, Thos. Meredith, Parish Clerk
-
- Bethany, Elan Vale, Particular Baptist Erected 1845 Attendance - morning 60, evening 160 "....... I cannot mention the average number of attendants here because as our vicinity is mountainous the inhabitants dispersing, and the weather changable, so if the weather be fair we would have a very good congregation, but if the weather be wintry the attendants are very few." Richard Davies, Minister
- Pentreceithon, Calvinisticv Methodist Erected before 1815 Not a separate building Attendance - morning 26 scholars, afternoon 66 Edward Davies, Superintendant
Church Records
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in
Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1737-1811, 1813-1897; Marriages 1737-1837, 1972-1978,
Nant-gwyllt 1875-1971; Burials 1737-1811, 1813-1936
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Lewis family, of Y Neuadd,
Llansanffraid Cwmteuddwr, papers "Records of the Lewis-Lloyd and Lewis families of Nantgwyllt and of their
estates, mainly in Llansanffraid Cwmteuddwr, and
Rhayader, Radnorshire and Llanwrthwl, Brecknockshire, including deeds and
documents relating to the Nantgwyllt and Camdeuddwr estates in Radnorshire,
1579-1902,........"
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Return to top
Llansanffraid Cwmteuddwr
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 20 Nov 2011 - Gareth Hicks]