GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANSTEFFAN / LLANSTEPHAN

"LLANSTEPHAN, a parish in the hundred of Painscastle, county Radnor, 6 miles W. of Hay, its post town, and 7 S.E. of Builth. It is situated on the rivers Bachwy and Wye. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of St. David's, value 67, in the patronage of the bishop. The church is dedicated to St. Stephan. The charities amount to about 8 per annum." ( The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868 )

Bibliography

Mostyn, J Major         A Radnorshire Terrier  (from the Tithes of Llanstephan)           Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 31  1961    Welsh Journals Online

Church History

LLANSTEPHAN, St. Stephen   1868-1871  -o n the Church plans online site

Church of St Steffan, Llanstephan on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanstephan Parish; Statistics; Area 2407 acres; Population 143 males, 112 females, total 255

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for Llansteffan / Llanstephanf rom the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

 

Return to top

Llansteffan / Llanstephan


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 20 Nov 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.