Nearby places
LLANFIHANGEL DYFFRYN ARWY / MICHAELCHURCH-ON-ARROW
St. Michael's, Michaelchurch-on-Arrow. [Brilley and Michaelchurch Parochial Church Council], [1963]. 7p
MICHAELCHURCH-ON-ARROW, St. Michael 1867-1869 - on the Church plans online site
Church of St Michael, Michaelchurch-on-Arrow on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site. "St Michael's church lies in the extreme east of Radnorshire, a short distance from the border with England and 8km from Kington........"
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Michaelchurch-on-Arrow Parish; Statistics; Area 1926 acres; Population 87 males, 67 females, total 155 [?]
- Michaelchurch Parish Church Attendance - (average) morning 30, afternoon 60 (alternately) Edward Watkins, Churchwarden
-
- Primitive Methodist, Michael Church upon Harrow Not a separate building Attendance - (average) afternoon 30 "This is a private Dwelling occupied by a trades man and in which we meet for Divine Service sometimes every week and sometimes but once in a fortnight on the week Nights and atended to by diferent Local Preachers and Minesters of the Primitive Methodists Denomination" William Went, Local preacher and Class Leader, Carpenter, Huntingdon, nr Kingston
Church Records
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in
Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1741-1988 ; Marriages 1741-1964; Burials 1741-1993
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the Hereford Archives and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the Hereford Archives and/or Powys Archives
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Michaelchurch manorial records 1754-1849 "Michaelchurch was a manor in
Michaelchurch-on-Arrow, Radnorshire, on the border with
Herefordshire. By the mid eighteenth century the lords of the manor were the
Trumper family."
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Return to top
Llanfihangel Dyffryn Arwy / Michaelchurch-on-Arrow
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 4 May 2011 - Gareth Hicks]