Nearby places
NANTMEL
Browne, David M. A probable Roman marching camp near Nantmel, Radnorshire.
Archaeology in Wales 27 (1987), p. 23
Morris, S T. Four generations of a dirty-boot farming family : the Morrises of Nantmel, 1830-1992.
Transactions of the Radnorshire Society 63 (1993), p. 68-78
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Nantmel parish 1841-1901
See Welsh
Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Church of St Cynllo , Nantmel
NANTMEL, St. Cynllo 1869-1881 - on the Church plans online site
Church of St Cynllo, Nantmel on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Carmel
section (in Welsh)
has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (July 2009)
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Nantmel Parish consisting of the Townships of Gwastedin, Maesgwyn, Coedlasson and Vainor; Statistics; Area 16387 acres; Population 749 males, 666 females, total 1415
- Gwastadin Township
- Maescelyn, Baptist Dwelling House Attendance - (average) 75 "There has been a Sunday School kept in this place for the seven last years but closed for the last Nine Months, its general numbers was from 35 to 40 scholars and will be reopened in a short time. Books and Teachers all gratis." Lewis Jones, Deacon, Holmes, Rhayadr
-
- Maesgwyn Township
- No returns
-
- Coedlasson Township
- Goosetree Chapel, Wesleyans Erected 1842 Attendance - evening 27 Richard Wilding, Wesleyan Local Preacher, Bridgend, nr Penybont
-
- Vainor Township
- Nantmel Parish Church Attendance - (average) morning 80 + 20 scholars 1 service in English in the church and chapel "Congregations are much affected by the state of the weather in this church many of the congregation having to walk or ride 4 or 5 miles and in some cases more (illegible) very many of the Inhabitants attend other Parish Churches being more convenient to them" James John Evans, Curate
-
- Doleu Chapel, Baptist Erected before 1800 Attendance - morning 106, afternoon 34 scholars, evening 88 ".........on fine weather the average number of attendants at the Evening Service is about 150" David Davies, Minister
- Carmel, Independent Erected about 1829 Attendance - (average) general congregation 80; scholars 11 Thomas Evans, Minister
Church Records
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in
Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1742-1992; Marriages 1742-1980; Burials 1742-1992; Banns 1823-1998
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Nantmel Community Council
Aerial photograph of Nantmel Roman Marching Camp - on the Gathering the Jewels site
Nantmel War Memorial - on the Roll
of Honour site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Penlanole Estate sale particulars 1910 "The Penlanole estate included lands in the parishes of Nantmel, Llanwrthwl, St Harmon and Abbey Cwmhir,
Radnorshire"
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Victorian Powys for schools - Map of Nantmel in 1904, and 1840
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Nantmel Parish and Community Council records 1840-1996
Return to top
Nantmel
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 20 Nov 2011 - Gareth Hicks]